We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Rochelle Motel(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tresori Motor Lodge(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Village Inn(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Criterion Motel(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sumner Bay Motel(Christchurch)
US$108
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferry Motel(Christchurch)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cashel Court Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
City Worcester Motel(Christchurch)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
148
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshepherd's hutthe main housenew zealandb bpet lambhome bakingsheep shearingyogurtsouth islandensuite roomvaried and plentifulevery single detailexcellent hostsfavorite stayenglish gardenoutdoor showermagical place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We loved staying here last year. We stayed in the Shepherd's Hut and it was a wonderful, unique experience. The hut is rustic, secluded and peaceful but wonderfully comfortable. It was lovely to be able to cook and eat local salmon on the BBQ on the deck, followed by an outdoor bath under the stars. The ingredients supplied for (a self cooked) breakfast were delicious, varied and plentiful. It was hard to leave. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EdwinaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We've just stayed for two nights at Coombe Farm - our third stay! Quite simply, it is our favourite place. There are very few B&B's I could return to again and again but Kathrine and Hugh manage to get everything right, apparently effortlessly. There is plenty to do and plenty of interesting books and magazines.
We love "our" room, the beautiful house, the amazing garden, the wonderful breakfasts and, above all,
the opportunity to catch up with Kathrine and Hugh. They are such interesting company and great hosts.
We hope to enjoy many more stays at Coombe Farm.

Room Tip: We love the room with the ensuite shower room but the other bedroom now has a private bathroom with a bathtub which is very tempting!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have been amazed with the quality of B&B s in NZ. I doubt however if Coombe Farm has an equal anywhere. Katherine looks after the guests while Hugh looks after the sheep and cows as his father did before him. Katherine has renovated the farmhouse transforming it into a perfect B&B which fortunately survived the earthquake.
Our large room was furnished with great taste and overlooked the valley with the waters of the bay visible in the distance. Breakfasts were taken at a large table in the kitchen and were first class...never had quince before!
We went on a walk up the valley to a waterfall without leaving their land. The small town of Akaroa lies on abay some 4 km away and has a number of good restaurants and even a small cinema.
We will be saving up to come back!

Room Tip: Our room had an en suite shower room but the other room has sole use (i think) of a very nice bathroom with a bath and shower. There is also a charming shepherds hut in the grounds which has an outside bath..definitely one for the summer!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Coombe Farm was the last stop on our seven week tour of New Zealand and probably the best. The atmosphere was very relaxing and breakfasts excellent. A beautiful farmhouse and very attentive hosts Kathrine and Hugh. We enjoyed the private walk up the valley, through the sheep, to the waterfall. All recommended restaurants were excellent. We also highly recomment the wildlife sailing cruise from Akaroa, with Hectors dolphins swimming on our bow wave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEWatt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Out of the many highlights my girlfriend and I experienced while travelling through the beautiful country of New Zealand, the Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast and Akaroa as a whole rate very highly and I can only recommend a stay there.

Katherine and Hugh are excellent hosts and the house is so lovely displaying great artwork and an impressive book collection. Breakfast was very delicious, the company delightful and the view in front of the house is breathtaking.

We genuinely couldn't have asked for any more and I can only echo the good and kind words of my fellow travellers, who already complimented Katherine and Hugh for this outstanding B&B and their friendliness.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews