We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had the loveliest stay at Coombe Farm. The farm house is simply delightful, surrounded by beautiful gardens in the very peaceful and tranquil Takamatua valley. The sound of the river and birdsong in the background made for an exceptionally relaxing, welcoming and homely place to stay.

I hope to come back one day to experience the Shepherds Hut and enjoy more of Katherine and Hugh's amazing hospitality.

This is a gorgeous place to relax and find peace away from the hustle and bustle of busy city life. Loved, loved, loved it and hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: The rooms are gorgeous. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minniemoomoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is our second visit. This time we tried the shepherds cottage and my teenagers stayed in the house. Upon arrival Katherine treats us to Earl Grey tea and home made baking that was beyond divine. The Shepherds cottage is superb, you are surrounded by the best that nature has to offer. My son enjoyed a hot bath under the starry sky watching clouds race past the moon - tell me does The Crillion Paris or the Raffles Singapore offer that experience? Akaroa itself is literally a few minutes drive away, you can pop out for fish and chips, sit in a bar and look at the sea also, so I strongly suggest you get the best of both worlds and stay at Coombe farm, escape the usual motel offerings and book here, there is no way in the world you will ever regret it. Cleanliness, quality of food and overall hospitality are 100% in every way. Amazing! I couldn't bear to leave without re booking again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indurain41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had been going around in a campervan and thought we should give ourselves a night off. This place was perfect. Everything is fantastic and we wish we could have stayed longer. The location is great, the welcome was really friendly, the room beautiful, the bed comfortable, breakfast tasty. You get the idea. I could write a lengthy review praising how much we liked staying at Coombe Farm but if you are reading this and thinking about booking it... stop reading... just book it. You will be really glad you did!

Room Tip: We were in the main house which was lovely. Next time though we're going to try and get the litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnshaft2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My fiancée and I spent 3 nights at Coombe Farm over his birthday and we had a truly wonderful holiday experience. From the warm welcome when we arrived to our morning cups of tea, Kathrine and Hugh went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home in their beautiful B&B.
The B&B is on a working farm, which had worried me initially (I'm not the fondest of cows!) but my fears were laid to rest as we drove up to the house - the cows were well away in another part of the farm, and instead we were greeted into a beautifully kept home, nestled in the valley and overlooking the water.
Kathrine and Hugh's farm was wonderful fun to explore, and Kathrine was very helpful in recommending various activities and sightseeing tours that we could explore during our time in Akaroa.
The rate included breakfast; another treat (though I'm sure we have put on so much weight in 3 days with Kathrine's great cooking and Akaroa's fine dining to boot!). I have vegetarian and gluten-free dietary requirements but Kathrine catered to these without blinking!
All in all I would heartily recommend Coombe Farm to anyone wanting a first class B&B in Akaroa! Thanks so much for a great trip :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We loved staying here last year. We stayed in the Shepherd's Hut and it was a wonderful, unique experience. The hut is rustic, secluded and peaceful but wonderfully comfortable. It was lovely to be able to cook and eat local salmon on the BBQ on the deck, followed by an outdoor bath under the stars. The ingredients supplied for (a self cooked) breakfast were delicious, varied and plentiful. It was hard to leave. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EdwinaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We've just stayed for two nights at Coombe Farm - our third stay! Quite simply, it is our favourite place. There are very few B&B's I could return to again and again but Kathrine and Hugh manage to get everything right, apparently effortlessly. There is plenty to do and plenty of interesting books and magazines.
We love "our" room, the beautiful house, the amazing garden, the wonderful breakfasts and, above all,
the opportunity to catch up with Kathrine and Hugh. They are such interesting company and great hosts.
We hope to enjoy many more stays at Coombe Farm.

Room Tip: We love the room with the ensuite shower room but the other bedroom now has a private bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have been amazed with the quality of B&B s in NZ. I doubt however if Coombe Farm has an equal anywhere. Katherine looks after the guests while Hugh looks after the sheep and cows as his father did before him. Katherine has renovated the farmhouse transforming it into a perfect B&B which fortunately survived the earthquake.
Our large room was furnished with great taste and overlooked the valley with the waters of the bay visible in the distance. Breakfasts were taken at a large table in the kitchen and were first class...never had quince before!
We went on a walk up the valley to a waterfall without leaving their land. The small town of Akaroa lies on abay some 4 km away and has a number of good restaurants and even a small cinema.
We will be saving up to come back!

Room Tip: Our room had an en suite shower room but the other room has sole use (i think) of a very nice bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Gullies B&B
Twin Gullies B&B
#6 of 25 in Akaroa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 25 in Akaroa
240 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 25 in Akaroa
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 18 Old Le Bons Track | Takamatua Valley, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: £112 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable farmhouse accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing