We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place to stay in New Zealand”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Shepard's hut for 2 nights and it was by far our favorite accommodations. The hut is cozy, well appointed, perfectly decorated and has some wonderful unique features (like an outdoor bathtub) that made it a terrific place to stay. Kathrine and Hugh are the real reason this place was so wonderful. They thought of everything to make our stay great - from homemade cookies to plush, oversized towels. We are very glad we had the opportunity to stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Upon arrival at Coombe Farm, we were already blown away by its beautiful surroundings and lovely garden setting. The restored home is something you would find out of a home decor magazine. The house is bright and spacious with wonderful attention to detail. Our King ensuite room looked out to the front yard - it was quiet, cosy, and very clean. Our bathroom had a shower stall, heater, and a heated towel rack which was a nice addition as it got cool in the evenings. You can make tea in your room and there were also little heart-shaped shortbread cookies. Free wifi and parking. One of the main features is the breakfast! We had fruit, yogurt, cereal, fresh juice, tea, coffee, and Kathrine makes an outstanding cooked breakfast with eggs, bacon, etc. Truly a perfect way to start the day! Kathrine recommended a little hike from the house to a little waterfall nearby - it was as nice walk after a long day of travel. You'll see and hear cicadas, sheep, and birds. The roses, dahlias, and fruit trees in the garden are lovely. Hugh looks after the farm - I wish we stayed longer and were able to experience some herding and shearing! This place is very special and ranks in my top 5 B&B's around the world. Great value for exceptional quality. Highly recommended to stay at least 1 or 2 nights. We hope to return one day. Thank you Kathrine and Hugh!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. There is a free standing Shepard's Hut which sounds tranquil and private, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Queen bedroom for one night as part of a road trip. Bathroom was down the hallway but was for our exclusive use and very well equipped with separate bath and shower. The room was spacious with a good selection of quality furniture, and had a view over their front garden. We had a very comfortable stay and could not ask more. The place was set in a serene, peaceful part of Akaroa, only a 5-minute drive away from the town. Inside the house was so tastefully decorated throughout.
Kathrine and Hugh were great hosts, would definitely come back for a longer stay and would recommend to anyone. This was one of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim4119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

A beautiful, beautiful place to stay for a relaxing break. Picture postcard perfect and your every comfort catered for. Kathrine and Hugh are wonderful, welcoming hosts and make you feel at home from the minute you walk up the garden path. Thank you so much for hosting us, we were blown away by your home, it's location and your amazing attention to detail. We all wanted to stay at least a week! We'll definitely be back for a longer stay and tell all our friends about you!! (Hunt/Crawshaw party - Feb 2014)

Room Tip: They're both gorgeous. Our room had a big private bathroom with bath and shower just down the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redt0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Perfection!

Following our road trip round the south island this was the perfect end to our New Zealand escapades.

We stayed in the king ensuite in the main house and it was lovely. Great to have your own lounge area downstairs as well. Lovely bedding, beautiful breakfasts, gorgeous views.

Hugh took us out on his quad bike round the farm which was brilliant. Catherine was really helpful with tips on things to do and was very attentive. And, once again, her breakfasts......wow!

If you do one thing on your New Zealand trip, make sure you stay here.

Alan and Michael

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AL1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We had 2 nights in the Shepard's hut and it was very delightful. It was so peaceful and although we had no interaction except for a greeting from our host it was perfect. The hut has total privacy and is unlike any of our stays in the rest of New Zealand. It is a romantic little cottage with an outdoor bathtub. No tv, no internet, so you better like your significant others company! Couldn't have been more peaceful with the stream and birds out the back deck. Loved it. Great for couples. If it had a real fireplace it would be perfect!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

From the moment we arrived and opened our car door, we began to relax and take in the sublime understated beauty of this magic B&B. From the wonderful gardens to the rustic rural outlook to the inviting warmth of the furnishing and amenities, to the heavenly breakfasts, and superb hospitality of Katherine and Hugh, we were quite simply blown away by Coombe Farm.

It is an oasis in an already stunningly gorgeous part of NZ, and must undoubtedly rank as the best value accommodation my wife and I have ever stayed in- I would have happily paid double the price for what we experienced and never have batted an eye lid.

Spoil yourself and enjoy the beauty, peacefulness, comfort and hospitality that Coombe Farm has to offer...you won't be disappointed, that I'm sure of.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOL1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Old Le Bons Track | Takamatua Valley, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable farmhouse accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing