We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property & host”
Review of L'Abri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Abri
Ranked #2 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We spent two gorgeous nights at L'abri just outside of Akoroa. From the stunning views on arrival, to the gorgeous rooms with lots of thoughtful small touches to te delicious eggs provencal for breakfast - everything about our stay was a delight.

Akoroa is also a great town. A charming place outside of Christchurch - our 2 nights was just the perfect length to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meaganmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Wonderful stay with a wonderful host! Exceeded my expectations, which were already high after reading prior reviews... relaxed in comfort before doing Wanaka Ironman and was wishing I could head straight back!!! Only issue was not being personally able to enjoy eggs on the sumptuous breakfast menu, but was extremely catered for, nonetheless.
Recommended in the very highest terms(!)

Room Tip: Just ask for the hosts recommendations, and take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forest P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I stayed at L'Abri with my partner before going to a wedding. Was a wonderful stay. The room was fresh, clean and had beautiful luxurious decor. Jane the owner was so welcoming and made a delicious breakfast in the morning. To top it off the views of the bay are superb, from both the room and from the dining room. I thoroughly recommend this B&B and suggest staying two nights if you can.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at L'Abri for one night in the cottage and it was lovely. Everything was great. The cottage was fully self contained, with a little kitchen and ensuite bathroom. Everything was provided for by our hosts. Everything went smoothly. It's also not so far out of town.

Room Tip: The cottage was sufficiently secluded and separate from the main residence. Definitely ask for the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

we had an amazing stay at L'abri. This place is just amazing and so peaceful. The room we slept in was so clean and felt like home. The bedding was soft and the sheets were so nicley pressed, I wouldn't have had such a treat at home. we slept so well and woke up to a home cooked breakfast or home made crosaints, stewed fruit and muslie. YUM!

I would reccomend this accomidation to everyone and I would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

What a treat it was to stay at L'Abri and enjoy the superior hosting and cooking skills of Jane. From the moment we arrived, we felt totallly at home. Our room was superb with a stunning view of the Bay and the attention to detail was faultless. The homemade food for breakfast and eggs care of the roaming chickens was delicious and it was great to chat with other guests and Jane. Nothing was too much trouble!

If you want a lovely experience do stay at L'Abri - accomodation which is a cut above the rest. We were given a gift voucher by our children to stay so start nagging your offspring for one too. You deserve it!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The cottage is very cute and full of delightful personal touches. It is situated in a beautiful garden setting and is a peaceful and romantic option for couples. There is a view of the bay from the small veranda, a lovely spot to drink your coffee in the morning. Breakfast was continental, with homemade museli and jam, very tasty. Jane, the host, made us feel very welcome and as though nothing was a problem. I would highly recommend this B&B and we intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Abri

Address: 7 Takamatua Bay Road | Rd1, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: £127 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to expansive water views of beautiful Takamatua Bay, tranquil rolling hills, nature surrounds and charming gardens dotted with nut and fruit trees. Enjoy Jane's special welcome and hospitality and the pleasure of her delicious gourmet breakfast made from fresh produce mostly from L'Abri's own garden! Enjoy the modcons of the light-filled home and your beautifully appointed room and bathroom, or relax in the picturesque ambiance of the deck and let your cares drift away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing