We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in Every Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Abri

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
L'Abri
Ranked #2 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Just spent a wonderful night at this "hidden gem". Perfect peaceful location with beautiful panoramic views, high standard accommodation, wonderful breakfast and excellent hospitality from Jane. Cannot recommend L'Abri too highly.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tuckress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    9
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
150
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We absolutley loved our stay at L'abri. Our host was wonderful and friendly, and our room over looked the bay and beautiful gardens. The fresh breakfast was fantastic, as was our host. The fruit orchard, and chooks provided excellent fresh produce for our great breakfast. Jane was very warm and kind. We will definately go back again if we can, but stay a little longer! Perfect relaxing end to a hectic trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstroScope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed with Jane at her wonderful lifestyle house and even more fabulous garden only steps away from a lovely quiet bay with kingfishers and paradise ducks in December, as part of our 3 month tour of NZ. Our happiest memories, now the tour is completed, are of our time with Jane. A short walk over the Old French Road and you are in Akaroa but a short walk back and you are in the quiet solitude of the 'her' bay. Our room was so comfortable and breakfasts and general ambiance, and views, were so wonderful. We had a pod of Orca visit the bay on our first morning...but we won't say any more on that!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabre9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

A lovely new Bed and Breakfast. We had a beautiful room looking out at the sea with its own entrance and private deck to sit outside. Only a really short walk down to the very peaceful beach although just walking around the gardens of this charming lifestyle B & B was lovely. We had a great breakfast mostly from the owners own garden and her free range hens!! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Abri

Property: L'Abri
Address: 7 Takamatua Bay Road | RD1, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to expansive water views of beautiful Takamatua Bay, tranquil rolling hills, nature surrounds and charming gardens dotted with nut and fruit trees. Enjoy Jane's special welcome and hospitality and the pleasure of her delicious gourmet breakfast made from fresh produce mostly from L'Abri's own garden! Enjoy the modcons of the light-filled home and your beautifully appointed room and bathroom, or relax in the picturesque ambiance of the deck and let your cares drift away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing