We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mt Vernon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mt Vernon Lodge
Ranked #11 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful setting with a lovely view of the harbour. Nice tidy room with everything we needed. We only stayed one night but would definitely stay there again. Very quiet and relaxing because it is away from the main street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Enjoyed two lovely nights at Mt.Vernon Lodge staying in The Maison - a very cute cottage, somewhat reminiscent of an old miner's cottage. While simplistic it had all the necessities and proved very economical with having a voucher (two nights for the price of one). Certainly very quiet on the nights we stayed. As other reviewers have mentioned the bed linen is superb with a huge and very comfortable king bed. The chandellier certainly gave out a great light in the evenings while we played cards! There is no TV or radio (we took our own transistor). Seeing a mention from another reviewer that there was no sofa, we took a couple of folding chairs, but with the weather being so good we just sat outside on the little terrace. Not sure we would want to stay there in the winter time, though there is a log burner and plenty of wood, plus electric heater. As others have mentioned there could certainly do with some kind of shower caddy for soap, shampoo and maybe a shelf above the basin for toothpaste/brush etc. as there is nowhere to put these things. The hosts were very friendly people and did ask us if we could suggest any improvements and we did mention this to them, so hopefully in the future other guests won't have this problem.

Room Tip: While there were other accommodation options, we found The Maison very good for a couple and no need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

A deceptively large wooden cabin with beautiful French style interior. Owners were extremely friendly and welcoming.
Only issue would be minor niggles, no shelf in bathroom to put toiletries on and quite noisy on one of the two nights we stayed there as very windy and rainy, making it very drafty, but perhaps that would be expected?
However the bed was extremely comfortable, linen was of high standard and the room was super clean and the cleanliness and bed comfort are the two things I want above all else.
Would highly recommend to anyone, would stay again myself, but not in the winter. (Although does have a log burner and oil radiators)

Room Tip: We stayed in the masion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirrelalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We recently stayed in the Maison cottage as a couple. This is best described as a tasteful but modestly redecorated old cabin, so mod cons are a little limited and the price reflects this. The website description is a lttle misleading. We used a voucher which made our 2 nights very inexpensive. The setting is very peaceful, particularly if one avoids the weddings held most weekends in the lodge part of the facilities. Outlook is of English trees and native bush ( the lodge has sea views). The cabin is a studio configuration ( all the cabins are configured slightly differently) and has a small kitchenette, tiny bathroom , dining table and 2 wooden chairs and king bed. There is no sofa or armchair inside, no TV or phone, and the cabin was not serviced. Cabin B is larger and does have 2 sofas and a larger and sunnier deck.
Take a deck chair and some fly spray. The manager provided a BBQ at our request. Staying here needs someone to be very fit or have a car as it is situated up in the valley behind the township.
More up market, but more expensive cottages in the area are the Akaroa cottages just off the main road prior to Akaroa.
While we were in Akaroa, we enjoyed Bully Hayes for drinks and coffee, and had excellent coffee and food ( albeit grump service) at The Stables. The Black Cat dolphin tour was outstanding.
Suggestion to owners-realign website to match expectations, provide some milk, shampoo and fly spray, and consider a comfortable chair or two in this cabin.
Overall, however a very very peaceful and pretty spot, close enough to the township for eating and shopping but avoiding the hustle of the cruise ships. The decor and fit out are around 3.5 stars and the modest price, particularly if using a voucher, reflects this.

Room Tip: Talk to the managers about choices between cabins and chalet depending on group size. Cabin B looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had probelms finding accommodation for our last 2 nights in NZ so the helpful owner of Bella Vista in Kaikoura rang around and found Mt Vernon Lodge.We got there about 7pm and no one was around, a note was on the office door with instructions to ring them, but we didn't have a phone (we had told them that). So we drove back down into the village and ended up at the Criterion Motel. The owner of The Criterion phoned them for us to say we had arrived, but they were not really interested in whether we returned or not, so we cancelled. Also the driveway to the Lodge was an horrendous drive, we were lucky it wasn't raining.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisa R, Owner at Mt Vernon Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Chrissy, our apologies for your difficult experience. Unfortunately, you arrived approximately 3 hours after your agreed ETA. We had waited 2 hours for you but then had to go out. As you had given us no contact numbers or credit card details, we assumed that you had changed your mind about staying with us. We left you a note, just in case. Our driveway is a pretty standard, long rural driveway, I'm also very sorry to hear you found it difficult to drive on.

I hope this unfortunate experience didn't put you off this beautiful country and that the rest of your visit here went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

The website for Mt Vernon Lodge was part of the selling point for my business group but we could not have been prepared for how much BETTER the reality was! That view! Wow! And the ability to sit around the open fireplace as a group to discuss business and strategise was wonderful. No matter how cold outside during winter, we met were so cosy both when meeting and in our accommodation rooms of the lodge. Aslo, a full complement of audio-visual tools are available.

We enjoyed the opportunity to self cater for breakfasts, with the well-equippted commercial kitchen right beside the meeting area. But also had the wonderful benefit of the Ma Maison Restaurant owner/chef coming on-site to prepare DELICIOUS meals. And we still planned to take the opportunity to enjoy the various tastes of meals at the nearby village restaurants. So for meals we had the best of three worlds! Flexibility is the by-word for this venue!

The other reason for choosing this place was the helpfulness of the manager on-line and even made contact by phone (international) to assist. But again, in person the manager was the same - nothing was too much for him.

I highly recommend this venue for family get-togethers and team development and business strategic planning etc. And the beautiful historical village of Akaora is just down the hill - so near!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstrav255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.0 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.7 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.0 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#10 of 24 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Vernon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Vernon Lodge

Property: Mt Vernon Lodge
Address: 33 Purple Peak Rd, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Vernon Lodge, Akaroa, is a rural paradise. Set on the slopes of Mt Vernon, nestled in amongst established trees and with stunning views over Akaroa Harbour, the Mt Vernon Estate is a perfect place to get away from it all. We boast a range of accommodation options to suit everyone, from singles, romantic couples, or groups of up to 50 people. This beautiful, private venue can also be hired in its entirety to makes Mt Vernon a stunning Wedding Venue for up to 100 guests. In addition, we have a fully equipped conference room set in beautiful surroundings, perfect for conferences or team building events. You'll never want to book anywhere else... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mt Vernon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing