We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dolphin sail”

Akaroa Sailing Cruises
Ranked #3 of 23 Tours in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dolphin sail”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Although it wasn't the most exciting day for sailing - not a great deal of wind and quite cloudy - it was more than compensated for by the charming welcome, the fascinating rundown of local history (both past and present settlers!) and the encounter with 10 or more Hector's dolphins. So much nicer to see (and hear) them from a sailing boat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sailing on the SV Manutara with Captain Ray Shoebridge”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

So last day in NZ and we ended up at the end of the pier at beautiful Akaroa, chatting to the impossibly charming Captain Ray. He gently persuaded us to take an afternoon trip on his classic yacht and it proved to be a thoroughly enjoyable sail. Goose winging in a F4 on a run down the bay and then beating back up as she ponderously pushed her bow through the wind with spray coming across the fore-deck in rainbow droplets. Ray multi-tasked with aplomb. He regaled us with stories of genocidal Maoris and long limbed sheep, showing us shags(not cormorants),penguins and Hector's dolphins and impressed with a masterclass of single-handed sailing and berthing techniques, but also gave first time sailors absolute confidence in taking the helm.Totally relaxing conclusion to our holiday.
Brilliant value -well done Ray

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FydorDosteovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A perfect sail!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The weather was perfect for our morning of sailing with Ray on Akaroa Harbour. His yacht is just lovely and there were only four passengers on board including my friend and me so we were able to learn a lot from Ray about the Maori history of Akaroa which was fascinating and also about the wildlife we saw, including Hector Dolphins, penguins and shags. I've never been much good on boats but this day was the nicest sail I've ever had. I can highly recommend Akaroa Sailing Cruises as a 'mustn't miss' experience when in Akaroa!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sydsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect combination”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

With Ray Shoebridge, at the helm of SV Manutara, is the perfect way to explore the waters off Akaroa. Ray's knowledge of the wildlife and history is great and to see a pod of Hector dolphins playing around the yacht as we raced along was wonderful. To be aboard a beautiful yacht was a real bonus, as was the opportunity to take the helm. Thank you, Ray.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fitzpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really great trip”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A spur of the moment decision but we really enjoyed our sailing trip in Akaroa. Saw loads of little penguins and a rare hector dolphin. Was so nice. Even had a go at sailing the boat. Ray was really good at explaining many interesting facts of the area and about its first settlement. A must do :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Sailing Cruises also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Sailing Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing