We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sailing experience ever!”

Akaroa Sailing Cruises
Ranked #4 of 23 Tours in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best sailing experience ever!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a great time sailing with Captain Ray at Akaroa! It was a lovely day, with great weather! GORGEOUS scenery and interesting information about wildlife and history, We are a couple or marine biologists from Chile and we totally recomend it! it's a MUST DO in Akaroa! 100% fun and Ecofriendly!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jesu_Valdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuggen, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Where the enthusiasm began”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It was amazing! Sailing, enjoying the silence, see a lot of animals. Ray is the best captain ever. Hope to see him again on the Walensee in summer!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank YvonneWoendli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic dolphin experience”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We met Ray on the dock after getting off our cruise ship, and immediately liked him. We sailed with him for over three hours with only 9 passengers on board. We saw at least 8 Hectors dolphins that followed and swam around the boat. Each of us had a turn actually driving the boat, not just holding the wheel. Ray is gracious and a skilled sailor and the boat is comfortable and great fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYtraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“exciting experience”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were lucky enough to enjoy a magical morning out in the harbour with Ray on his yacht. As we were the only 2 passengers, my husband and I were able to steer the yacht for the whole time except for leaving and arriving at the dock. It was a thrilling experience when the wind picked up. Didn't see much wildlife but it wasn't an issue. Informative, exhilarating day out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank joopie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A wonderful morning sailing”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We saw Ray and his beautiful yacht by chance as we walked up the Akaroa wharf. It was only a few moments later that we were booked on the morning sailing. There were four other passengers so six of us in all. It was a truly memorable morning. Good gusts of wind up the harbour to get the yacht going and interesting explanations of the yacht and local history from Ray. He found the lovely little Hector Dolphins and they played round the boat for a while. Definitely something to do again when we are next in Akaroa.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Sailing Cruises also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Sailing Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing