We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a casual meal and drinks - located right on the water, we sat for a couple of hours embracing the view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HarBar Beachfront Cafe

HarBar Beachfront Cafe
Ranked #12 of 29 Restaurants in Akaroa
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a casual meal and drinks - located right on the water, we sat for a couple of hours embracing the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Liked everything! Over water location, food, ambience. Owners need to cover the middle section of the decking so when it rains no-one gets wet.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mad_davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    66
    24
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little bar, good waterfront views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This little bar is just outside the main Akaroa seafront restaurant strip, and looks over the water to the jetty. Lovely views, laid back Kiwi-style service, good coffee. When it's windy they let down plastic windbreaks to keep you comfortable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“View, tick! Yum food, tick! Good times, tick!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stopped here on the off chance that they were still serving a late lunch, which they were.. tick! The view of the bay was fantastic, with the blue sea dotted with boats of all sizes.

We ordered the sea food platter and fish and chips which was tasty tasty, I am literally drooling thinking about the meal now. Nicely presented and event the birds enjoyed the chips!!

Really enjoyed our first meal in NZ and would def recommend the NZ beer - nom nom! :)

Grab a table outside as it is a really calm place to have some food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weeza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location shame about the staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Had spotted the waterfront bar with a lovely location earlier In the day, so had an evening drink here with the intention of staying for dinner but didn't. Hannah, our waitress, was attentive and doing her best in trying circumstances as she was in high demand. Most other patrons were trying to get the other blond waitress to take their orders or answers their questions. The blond waitress is surly and rude - banging down plates of food, dumping cutlery etc - and losing Harbar business.

As Akaroa relies heavily on tourist dollars I strongly suggest a review of staff, their attitudes and customer service ethic, with the exception of Hannah.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not welcomed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Unfortunately we didn't get the chance to dine here but did attempt to on two occasions... The first time we walked in to see if we needed to book a table and the waitress looked gormless and then referred our query to a male colleague who seemed uninterested in our custom. We left with the intention of going back there for an evening meal. We returned as the menu looked great and had a neat little seating area right on the water with lovely views.... However.... the waitresses would not even make eye contact or greet us while standing there for several minutes to be seated.... Looks great, but sorry.... we gave up due to the lack of service...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moochNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HarBar Beachfront Cafe also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to HarBar Beachfront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing