We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akaroa Bakery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akaroa Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: sells Paninis, pies, sandwiches, coffee
leeds
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My Farther was a baker as a child I remember the taste of fresh bread just from the oven, not your pre packed sliced wholesale manufactured bread the choice of breads is extensive, fresh and delicious

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Convenient to where we were stay .
Was nice to be able to get up in morning and go and buy croissants for breakfast back at our motel

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HighburyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinthepond
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Fish and chips and best price around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

For a fishing town the fish and chips were quite expensive $25 pp +. This bakery had huge portions enough to share for $22 including coffees, we are not tight but it pays to shop around. It was fabulous fish the best Cod we have had in years

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pinthepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh bread - lasted very well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We purchased fresh multigrain bread and lovely rolls for our lunches on our tramp through Banks Peninsula. They remained fresh for the few days we needed them and would definitely recommend this bakery.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorrae777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
“Best croissants outside of France!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This place doesnt look like a french bakery and they certainly don't do many french pastries but the croissants are surperb. We made a point of getting them first thing each morning to avoid missing out. The french breads are only baked on the weekend. Coffee was also great.
We found the new manager to be extremely friendly and generous!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Bakery also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing