We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beaufort House Akaroa
Ranked #1 of 25 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This was another return visit for us, as Wilderness House is one of our favourite B & B's. Since we were here a year ago, Jim and Liz have completed major work on the house, structural and decorative, such that post-earthquake it is even more structurally strong and in pristine condition.
As always, Jim and Liz's attention to us was great; - pre-dinner drinks of their local wine, dinner reservation made in the village for us, immaculate room complete with fresh flowers from the gorgeous garden, and an excellent breakfast.
Many thanks; we will return - again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parnellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Wilderness House was by far the best accommodation we had the pleasure to stay in during our short trip to New Zealand. Liz and Jim were wonderful hosts with a warm and welcoming nature. The house has been beautifully restored. We stayed in the Fyfe Room which has beautiful views. The decor is in keeping with it's late 1800s build and Liz's eye for interior design has certainly ensured that the house has kept it's period charm. The breakfast was wonderful with lovely fresh products. Michael enjoyed a wonderful freshly cooked eggs Benedict with salmon. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The house is just a short walk from the beautiful bay in Akaroa. For a small town it certainly does not lack in choice of restaurants with many different national fusions. We certainly benefited from Liz and Jim's knowledge of the area. Jim took particular pains to maps out some lovely sites to visit. We felt totally relaxed after our all to short visit. We cannot recommend Wilderness House highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

wonderful house & beautiful gardens. all our needs generously catered for by warm & helpful hosts. what a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHutch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

What a fabulous find. We arrived completing the final leg of our drive holiday through New Zealand to discover the charm of yesteryear combined with the luxury of today well within walking distance to the attractions of Akaroa village. Our hosts, Jim and Liz are the proud owners of a beautiful home built in 1878 that has been recently refurbished to a high standard while still retaining a period feel. We stayed in the Sheppard room which had its own Juliet balcony overlooking the garden and vineyard. Nice touches included new bathroom with underfloor heating, comfortable bed and plenty of room to unpack. Our hosts invited us to use their well appointed guest lounge where we enjoyed tea and coffee and a port beside the antique fireplace. Breakfast was served in the formal dining room with views to the garden. The menu changed daily, included local fresh produce and is far better than what you would find in most hotels. Jim and Liz went out of their way to make us feel welcome in their home and were a great source of knowledge about local attractions and assisted with bookings when needed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you have any special needs, be sure to ask as Jim and Liz will try to accommodate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANZalliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

A lovely relaxing night away in a beautifully decorated and fully restored house. Very gracious and welcoming hosts. Beautiful garden settimg and vista. Very comforatble beds, beautiful linen and wonderfully soft pillows ensured a peaceful sleep. Kim just loved the Akaroa eggs - a specialty breakfast set in the gracious dining room with a very welcoming and hard to leave fire. Can highly recommend the Trading Post restaurant for a special dining experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We had 3 lovely nights at Wilderness House. The experience was wonderful. Our hosts were very friendly and eager to help. The drinks on the terrace were welcome each night. We would highly recommend Wilderness House for those who love their 'luxury B&Bs"

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We could not have chosen a more lovely place to stay for the last stop of our New Zealand holiday. Jim and Liz are warm and generous hosts and this historic house has every comfort imaginable. We arrived on the afternoon of the Christchurch earthquake to find Akoroa and Wilderness House unaffected and Jim and Liz devoted themselves wholeheartedly to their guests. They have a genuine interest in their visitors and could not have been more helpful to us. The rooms are extremely confortable, the breakfasts excellent - and we appreciated the local wine offered each evening. We wholeheartedly recommend Wilderness House and Akoroa to all travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penguin452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
133 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
#14 of 25 in Akaroa
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
French Bay House
French Bay House
#11 of 25 in Akaroa
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: £200 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing