We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house - excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beaufort House Akaroa
Ranked #1 of 25 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

after 3 weeks travelling both north and south this was our last stop, lovelly old house, you are made very wellcome as soon as you arrive. the host are very helpfull with anything booking a meal etc. The host are moving on latter in 2013 and even though notthing is too much truble you can tell they are looking forward to giving up the B&B. Just 2 little things and they are that they is no choise in the cooked breakfat and the music that they play just not my taste. The room you can not fault with a lovely view, would tell anyone looking to vist the area to stop here

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjdigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

Our booking was helpfully transferred here after our original accommodation closed due to illness. However, I don’t think that we couldn’t have chosen a better place. Tucked up a sloping drive around 5 minutes’ walk from central Akaroa, Wilderness House is a large old mansion, run by a delightful couple.

Our room was upstairs, with a small but practical balcony looking into the trees. The bed was extremely comfortable, the wi-fi worked well and the room had pretty much everything needed.

We had to miss the early evening drinks due to a booking at The Little Bistro (expensive, but delicious), but the excellent breakfast indicated what we might have missed. The cooked dish in particular was top restaurant quality and the chat around the breakfast table most interesting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Wilderness House is a wonderful old house, with lovely grounds, beautifully decorated rooms and fantastic friendly hosts. We particularly enjoyed the wine made from Jim's on grapes! It was great to be able to walk to the nearby restaurants. We would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

After a demanding year and the busyness of hosting family gatherings over the Christmas period, we were looking for a relaxing treat in one of our favourite holiday spots. We could not have done better than Wilderness House! The location is ideal, so accessible to the township but nestled quietly away from traffic and tourists. The house, its hosts and setting are just perfect! We appreciated the genuine warmth of the welcome, the generous hospitality and opportunity to meet our fellow holidaymakers over the evening wine and nibbles session prior to dinner, the fine table settings and wonderful breakfasts, and the comfort and luxury of our surroundings. Liz and Jim provided a wonderful haven for a few magical days and we have returned home to pick up our busy lives, feeling relaxed and restored. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay any longer!

Room Tip: They all looked charming, with individualised decor. We loved the Fyfe Room with its corner locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We spent two nights at Wilderness House over the Christmas/NY period. The heritage house is set in immaculately maintained gardens and inside it's furnished with just the right nod to its history but with all modern facilities (eg all-new bathroom/wireless internet). Jim and Liz were the the perfect hosts - introducing guests to each other over wine in the evening and cooking up their famed breakfast in the morning. Through their in-depth knowledge of Akaroa, they were able to help us organise exactly the activities we wanted to do. We can definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

As a result of the Sea Princess not being able to accommodate us back on board due to bad weather, we were given this amazing property to spend the night. Jim, the owner met us at the Akaroa gym where over 700 of us were stranded, and just 4 of us got picked for this gorgeous property. We spent time in the main living room with Jim and Liz learning about Akaroa and New Zealand in General, and the rooms were amazing. We had the most comfortable bed, gorgeous furnishings, and even the next morning, breakfast was served in the cozy warm dining room and it was delicious. We could not have found a more accommodating host and hostess as well as the beautiful accommodations if we had tried. We consider it a blessing that our ship was not able to get us back on board, and the entire town of Akaroa rose to the occasion to house all 700 of us for the night. I would highly recommend this Inn and its location so close to everything in Akaroa. God Bless you for making this night the most memorable of our trip in its entirety.

Room Tip: they are wonderful! You can't go wrong with any room at this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Wilderness House for a weekend trip to Akaroa. Wilderness House a heavenly home a short stroll away from downtown Akaroa. Make sure you set aside some time to tour the tastefully furnished, amply decorated villa, explore the wide network of garden paths, and have a cultivated conversation sipping Pinot in the lounge before you go for dinner. Jim and Liz are amazingly attentive and very friendly hosts who had us enjoy their company in no time. Their intimate knowledge of the local scene comes really handy when arranging activities. The breakfast the next morning made the whole stay perfect. Wilderness House is spotless clean, an amazing achievement given the thousand little things around.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Boris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
#14 of 25 in Akaroa
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 25 in Akaroa
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: £200 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing