We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat for the senses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaufort House Akaroa
Ranked #1 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A treat for the senses”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We returned to this favourite B & B and the standard of accommodation and attention from our gracious hosts were as impeccable as ever. The location is so quiet, we awoke to the birds in the beautiful trees on the property. The 130-year-old house has the feel of an English country home. There are four individually decorated rooms upstairs, three with ensuites and all with attractive outlooks to the lovely garden or harbour. The lounge downstairs is the domain of guests and has a great selection of books, music, magazines and teas, and the after-dinner port is a nice touch. We enjoyed evening drinks in the garden with our hosts, with wine from grapes grown on the property, after which we wandered down to the village to a very good restaurant, Vangionis. Breakfast was excellent and comprehensive, with ingredients and garnishes fresh from the garden and the presentation was restaurant quality.
The attention to detail here is wonderful and we will return. Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parnellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
187
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Our second visit and there will be a third. Our room had fantastic views, beautiful bedding and our hosts were friendly and welcoming.. The pre dinner drinks and nibbles a special time.
The breakfeasts top class.
Lynne and John
Lowry Bay NZ

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

In February 2010, I travelled for a month with two friends across the whole of New Zealand. My penultimate night was spent in Wilderness House, Akaroa. I knew from looking at the website that I would love this place, however, I had no idea how much I would love it. It is set in an elevated position just up a gentle slope from the main street of Akaroa (another wonderful place!). The driveway to the house gently lets the beauty of the house and the gardens open up to you magically and slowly. The house itself is stunning, both in terms of architecture and interior design. The gardens and vineyards are uplifting (and not just because of the wine!). The hosts are charming and helpful and welcomed us with a glass of wine at 6.30 having booked us into a lovely restaurant for dinner. It was almost disgraceful to leave the terrace to stroll into town for dinner! The breakfast next morning was beautifully cooked and presented. My room was a delight with a balcony on which I sat to text all my friends to say I had arrived in heaven - and I loved it! I will be back Wilderness House, I will be back Akaroa!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinedukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Jim and Liz warmly welcomed us into their delightful home. On entering, all 4 of us were impressed with the quality of the interior design and delightful decorating features. Being the only two couples booked in for the mid-week, we had a (difficult) choice of the four rooms, each with its own special qualities (the Wilderness House website illustrates the four rooms but no photograph can ever do justice to a room setting), finally settling on the two rooms with sea views. We made full use of the guest lounge and made the most of the early evening settling into the comfy armchairs in front of the roaring fire. And we returned to the guest lounge after our dinner at Vangionis (special thanks to Liz for the recommendation and for making our reservations). Over a complimentary glass of port Jim entertained us and our Aussie guests. A totally dreamy, comfy night's sleep, and then the breakfast to beat all breakfasts - Liz, you are a star. It took ages before we actually drove away as we just did not want to leave. Special mention for cuddles and purrs from George. So all we have to do now is plan a return trip ...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This is a beautiful B&B run by very charming people. We didn't have anywhere booked for Akaroa as we didn't know if we could fit it into our itenary on our tour of the South Island. We arrived in the evening and tried to find a few B&B's that were open, and arrived at Wilderness House.

Its a fantastic charming old house and you feel like you're entering something historic on arrival. We had a choice of bedroom, all which were gorgeous and well presented. Liz was very good arranging a meal for us nearby and then we shared a lovely bottle of wine with Jim and Liz when we got back from the meal.

Breakfast was lovely and well presented again.

We had hoped to go on the boat trip to swim with the dolphins, but this was booked out, so good idea to book ahead. The drive from Christchurch to Akaroa is fantastic, so make sure you're doing it in plenty daylight.

Would recommend Wilderness House to anyone travelling around NZ. It was the first B&B we stayed in during our 2 week tour of the South Island and it was definately a worth while treat.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expect_quality_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We recently experienced the joy of staying at Wilderness House in Akaroa and felt we had gone to the other side of the world. This beautifully decorated house exudes English country charm and has a very warm and welcoming feel about it. The host and hostess couldn't have made our stay more pleasant. Our room was comfortable and well appointed with homely detail straight from the pages of English House and Garden! We were treated to a glass of wine from their own vineyard in the evening and enjoyed an excellent breakfast, that included Akaroa salmon, in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret_mary_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We spent two nights here at the end of our holiday. This is a house like you dream of having for yourself and you could have a break here without going out the front gate. The house is packed with a huge collection of books and objects, the rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, all different, the garden is lovely and just begs to be sat in with a book or a glass of wine or both. In summer breakfast is taken in the garden and in cooler weather in a beautifully decorated dining room, open fire and all. The owners Jim and Liz and George the cat made us feel warmly welcomed and instantly at home. Jim is full of local knowledge and eager to share it so that you can do as much or as little as you want. We had a special anniversary while we were there and Jim's advice of restaurant was greatly appreciated and perfect. This is my second stay here and if I am a very good girl with any luck it won't be my last.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelandKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.8 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Property: Beaufort House Akaroa
Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing