We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akaroa Criterion Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

We stayed for two nights in late October 2007, the motel is situated very close to the harbour and most of the first and second floor rooms
have views of the sea. The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful, the rooms were large and very well furnished, with full cooking facilities, and a balcony overlooking the sea view. Akaroa itself is a lovely town, still keeping its original French flavour and the Criterion is a very nice place to stay. One other thing that travellers trying to keep in touch with home may find to their advantage when using a laptop, is that unlike several other places we have stayed, the motel charges a very reasonable $10 NZ for 200 megs of data. Sufficient to send quite a few photos home, with corresponding reduced rates for emails etc. All in all a great motel. Highly recommended

  • Liked — The position, Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank poppajoe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    78
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
199
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canuck in Kiwiland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2007

We drove into Akaroa after dark with no reservations and stopped at the Criterion. The owners gave us a great deal on a 3rd floor suite with a spectacular view of the pier since we arrived late. The room was spacious and comfortable, and spotlessly clean! Heated floors, wooden deck chairs, complimentary newspaper, and fully stocked kitchenette were all a bonus.

The owners (Dave and Gabrielle) show great attention to detail and we were so pleased with our goodnight sleep. The owner and his dog, Mista, walked us to our room with a fresh bottle of milk to get us settled in for the night. If you're a dog lover, it is worth the trip just to meet this friendly, playful little dog.

  • Liked — The comfort, cleanliness, view, and especially Mista.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whitegloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2006

This 3 floor motel, which is rated 4+ star, and has big rooms and good , comfortable furniture, is across from the wonderful harbor, but there is a road and a few low buildings in the way, so harbor view is not guaranteed. The room we stayed in was very well equipped with a small kitchenette that included a microwave. There were good chairs for sitting out on the little deck which looked over the harbor. It was very quiet at night, and the bed was comfortable.
It seems very good value at the price we paid, as many of the other places on offer are further from the water or have no view at all of the water.
It pays to check if that's important to you.

Helpful?
2 Thank mturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2005

We stayed for one night in this motel in Akaroa. It is a small block of modern apartments just a stone's throw from the water front. Our apartment had just been refurbished and was extremely spacious with a great lounge area, huge bed and a balcony overlooking the harbour. On waking in the morning the view was wonderful. There was a nice big bathroom and the apartment was generally very well-equipped and tastefully decorated.

There is also off-street parking.

I would highly recommend this motel, and Akaroa is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Criterion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Criterion Motel

Property: Akaroa Criterion Motel
Address: 75 Rue Jolie | Akaroa Banks Penninsular, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Criterion Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb harbor views from most rooms at this 4 plus star plus motel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Super-king beds, private balcony. Double glazing and underfloor heating. Free WiFi each day in every room. Free car parking with ltd under cover parking also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Akaroa Criterion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Criterion Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing