We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Chose Akaroa to recover from the flight out from the UK. Arrived in Christchurch at 10.00 am after the 30 plus hours of travel and transferred to Akaroa by a car hired from Omega Rentals. The trip was only 80 kms and a couple of cafe stops on route made the journey entirely tolerable.
Akaroa is a special place, with a restful atmosphere. The Criterion Motel is a quality establishment set close to the harbour shore and cwtral to all local amenities. Chose a top storey room that gave excellent views over the harbour - a little pricey, but the studio style room was sizable, well furnished, and with a great bathroom. A balcony gave the opportunity for a relaxing glass of wine at sunset. Wifi was included in the room rate (with certain usage limitations). The only negative point is a degree of noise at the rear of the property from an adjacent small supermarket - this is really not at all notceable in the room.
There are a few good restaurants close to the motel - including Vangonis, a pasta and pizza place.
Plenty of options for car trips available locally - including bays off the Summit Road.

Room Tip: Top fllor gives best view over harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    80
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
210
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Nice check-in experience. The room, or - apartment actually - was large and clean. A nice base to have for this area of New Zealand. Not much within walking distance but then you'll have probably come here by car and so that isn't much of an issue.

Interesting drive to get to/from Christchurch through the picturesque mountainous countryside. We stayed here as it was a good option for staying outside yet near Christchurch (since most of the hotels there are/were still off-limits). It's about a 50 minute drive to get to Christchurch from this motel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seputus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Previous attempts at finding a good motel here have been less than satisfactory, but the Criterion ticks most of the boxes. Well situated just one block back from the waterfront and a short step from Akaroa's best restaurant Ma Maison. The approach and front door of the units overlook a supermarket loading bay, but once inside there are sea views from the first floor units at least. The units are spacious and well furnished and the staff friendly and helpful. I am happy to terminate my search and stay here in future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed in this motel for just one night prior to returning our hire car in Christchurch and returning to the UK.
We had a top floor studio unit which was a very good size and good value for money.
The bed was very comfortable and the shower room well equiped with quality toiletries.
The top floor units have excellent harbour views and the motel is very near to the shops and restaurants.There is comfortable seating looking out over the water and internet access if you need it.
It was a short stay but a very comfortable one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummygaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Great location but all accommodation in town is in a great location. When checking in I asked where our daughter would sleep, making it clear we had a child. He told us he would sort something out. Nothing happened but when my wife went to ask about the internet she was referred to as 'that lady with the child' in a derogatory tone. A lecture followed regarding norms in NZ regarding extra persons costing an extra $25. I was never asked to pay this at check in and have no objections at all with the fee as per the sites terms. I therefore went to the office after hearing this story from my wife and paid $50 for the two nights and asked if this was enough money for them to treat my wife with more respect. No extra bed ever turned up but I also didn't want to see the management again during our stay anyway. Plenty of other places to stay so avoid. Requested upper flour room with a beach view. Got a ground flour unit with direct side street access. Bathroom floor tiles are freezing and no hob for cooking. Large room and very clean. Worth noting that you will be charged for using the internet when you check out. The husband and wife team play bad cop good cop. Hubby tells you not to be concerned if you go over the quota but the Mrs charges you full whack when you check out.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pgbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful Motel for two nights (11.11.11 &12.11.11). To be honest with you even though the weather wasn't great the warmth shown to us by our hosts made up for it and i (we) wish we could've stayed for much longer. Our room was absolutely perfect! Even better than what i had expected. Very modern, warm & clean. Very luxurious. We had a room on the top floor on the end so we had an amazing view of the sea, wee warf and the "main township" that was about a 5min walk away (if you just strolled) so very well situated. The little quaint buildings and shops behind this motel also very nice. Handy to 4Square so you are able to buy nice wine there (and other stuff of course) at a good price. This motel i would rate the highest and would recommend to anyone wanting to stay at a beautiful romantic getaway that provides all (even umbrellas...LOL). Thank you Akaroa Criterion Motel for making our stay memorable for all the right reasons.
Sharon & Les Watson

Room Tip: The room we had was on the top floor beside the penthouse suite. Room 12. It was quiet, warm and wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed two nights. This was the first motel of our 12 night trip around the south island. The motel is one street back from the lake. What a view. Double glazed windows to keep out the cold, very efficient heating system. A small seating area to watch TV or just gaze at the wonderful view - mountains - lake. We found it to be a very comfortable room with a king size bed (a little hard for me but,). The room was large with the usual self catering equipment. Well situated within walking distance to all amenities, restaurants, supermarket, shopping etc.

Room Tip: It is a motel, so staying on the ground level would be a little noisy. Second floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieChris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Criterion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Criterion Motel

Property: Akaroa Criterion Motel
Address: 75 Rue Jolie | Akaroa Banks Penninsular, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Criterion Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb harbor views from most rooms at this 4 plus star plus motel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Super-king beds, private balcony. Double glazing and underfloor heating. Free WiFi each day in every room. Free car parking with ltd under cover parking also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Akaroa Criterion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Criterion Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing