We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Nearby Hotels
Arcadia Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
City Worcester Motel(Christchurch)
Free cancellation until 28/05
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adorian Motel(Christchurch)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sumner Bay Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferry Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cashel Court Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
214
94
17
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
94
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorthird floorundercover parkingspacious roommiddle floorno lifthuge bedwould definitely stay here againgreat viewrestaurants and shopsfriendly welcomesuperb locationnew zealandsea viewwithin walking distancelovely townshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here on our first night in the South Island, for our honeymoon. Lovely large room. Good clean facilities, pretty views, and very close to everything. Most comfortable bed we have slept in so far, and this alone is high commendation! Recommended accommodation :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WhitbyWimmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.
You didnt tell us you were on tour honeymoon. We would have wished you all the best for a full and happy life together. Also glad the bed was very comfortable. Always a must especially on a honeymoon :)
Glad you enjoyed Akaroa and we are pleased you had a great time here.
All the best for your future together

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for one night.
Great location close to all the shops and restaurants.
Very helpful staff. Although the view is better from the second floor be aware you have to carry your bags up two flight of stairs.
The room is quite large and an adequate kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your review.
If you need us to carry bags to the top floor we can do that for you. Yes the view certainly is great from there. The sea in all its changing moods and especially lovely on a sunny day.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our lovely town and hope you will visit again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Criterion in Akaroa has so much to recommend it. Fantastic location just off the main street of the French Bay area of town has to be number one. We went for a room with a harbour view and it definitely lived up to expectations. We were near the end of the main building, with a clear view from the pretty balcony along to the end of Rue Balguerie. The room itself was enormous with clean and comfortable facilities - I don't think we've ever had so much space for two people in a hotel room!! The well-designed and maintained motel kitchenette and bathroom were perfect for what we needed. The great king-size bed and cosy little lounge space completed a set-up which was a pleasure to call home for a few days!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndEBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Merci beaucoup for your lovely comments.
Yes the rooms are spacious but it is great to spread out sometimes and not feel claustrophobic in a Motel room,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our town. Akaroa has so much to offer even in the winter. as all our units have underfloor heating as well and are double glazed.
We look forward to meeting you again should you come back here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We arrived early for our one night stay and Gabrielle immediately took us to our room. As everyone mentions, the rooms are very large with king bed. Decent kitchen facilities and small table and chair set along with large sofa, second large chair etc. so lots of room to spread out. We had booked a 2nd floor room but found out that we were upgraded to a 3rd floor unit - very modest of Gabrielle not have mentioned it. The view is over rooftops of buildings below but does not impede view in any way. There are several places to pick up food or eat out. There are two streets with the same name so make sure you have directions to locate hotel. It is only a two minute walk to the water. The unit had a nice balcony with a small table and chair set to use. I have to say the only drawback was that the units face west and in the afternoon we had to close the curtains when inside the unit until closer to sunset (everything in Akaroa facing the water would likely have this issue). Most people would surely be out and about anyway but I thought I should mention it. We found this to be a quiet end of the town and a bit away from the many tourists who were there for the day from the cruise ship. A reminder that there is no elevator and I am not sure anyone is able to assist with luggage in need. We carried ours on our own so you would need to inquire if you need assistance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. Yes we do upgrade people if we are able (and they are nice people like yourselves) Always a nice surprise :)

Most people love the sun streaming in, for the afternoon but sometimes the glare from the water just at the wrong angle can be a little blinding, but lovely to sit on the blacony on a nice day and watch the world go by.
We can help with luggage if you need us to. You just have to ask.

Once again thank you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was our last motel at the end of a wonderful month in New Zealand and a perfect ending . David was so welcoming on our arrival and and showed us to our room which has a great view of the bay . We relaxed on our balcony to a perfect sunset before eating in a restaurant recommended by David . The motel is in a perfect location for the shops and restaurants and this an ideal location from which to explore the peninsula . The room itself was spacious, clean and very well furnished, with both inside and balcony seating. Akoroa itself was a super place to stay and on the Saturday evening, although very vibrant, everything quietened down enabling a really good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the harbour provide spectacular views especially on the second floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Wow, Thank you for the lovely comments. I'm sure my husbands head wont go through the door any more after those great comments about him.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand and especially in our wee town.
Akaroa is a very pretty town and there is so much to do here and yes nice to relax in the evening with a glass of wine and watch the sun go down over the hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews