We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure escapism”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oinako Lodge - our only regret was having to leave. Akaroa is truly beautiful and the unobtrusive and yet warm hospitality of our hosts, Greg and Teresa, ensured that Oinako Lodge is a place that we would definitely wish to visit again.

The stunning harbour views, the attention to detail of our hosts and, of course, the fantastic cooked breakfast made this B&B a memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

Thank you Greg and Theresa for a wonderful night in your beautiful home. We love old houses and you have certainly brought that old house back to life. Akaroa is a charming town, and we would really like to come back and spend more time there. Thankyou for the great reccomendation for dinner at the Little Bistro, and also the tip about driving back along the scenic Summit Road. We enjoyed your own gourmet breakfast,and all the little luxurious touches you provided. We will certainly tell our friends about this jewel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We only stayed here one night but what a beautiful way to spend it.

Oinako Lodge is just beautiful. So well kept. Each bedroom is so different and has such character. We were lucky enough to stay in the honeymoon bedroom Jade and the bathroom was amazing. The lodge is so relaxing, quiet and charming. Greg and Teresa who run the lodge were ever so friendly and obliging. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and just felt so luxurious yet friendly and relaxing. You are only a few minutes walk away from the waterfront yet you feel like you are really seeing the true side of Akaroa. There is ample parking and its very easy to find. Such a stunning little town, we loved it. Highly recommend the Akaroa Dolphins Nature Harbour Cruise in the morning!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatalieHayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Greg and Teresa are truly exceptional friendly hosts. We were welcomed with a drink each evening of our 2 night stay.
Their wonderful B and B Victorian homestead has true character and charm. Lovely room and very comfy bed. Our "Magnolia" room had a spectacular view overlooking Akaroa harbour.
Both Greg and Teresa were very helpful with info regarding evening dining, directions and sight seeing tips.
Oinako Lodge, would be without a doubt, the nicest B and B homestead we have stayed in during our 40 years of marriage.
Many thanks again Greg and Teresa for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at Oinako Lodge on our honeymoon and could not have chosen a more perfect venue. Greg and Teresa went out of their way to make our stay special - even allowing us to have some of our wedding photos taken in their gorgeous house and gardens. The Jade Room was absolutely spectacular - furnished to perfection with real taste and style. The bed and linen was exquisite and the gorgeous round spa bath such a treat. We were blown away with the delicious breakfast in the morning and the impeccable service from Greg. Nothing seemed to be a problem and the variety and quality of food we were offered was nothing short of superb. Teresa and Greg were extremely friendly and sincere people and we left feeling like old friends. Our stay at Oinako was very special indeed and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful setting for style, the 'welcome' factor and value for money. Absolute perfection.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guest014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Our 4 night stay will be remembered as one of the most stylish and relaxing getaways you could possibly ask for. Our hosts Greg and Teresa were perfectly hospitable, very knowledgable about the area and genuinely cared about making sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. An appetising cooked breakfast which changed each morning gave us a good start to each day and they even accommodated my daughters special meal request.
We loved the Amethyst room and its four poster bed. It was spacious, delightfully decorated and offered everything we needed. Overall we were very impressed with the high quality and cleanliness of this B&B with its perfect setting.
Akaroa is a hidden gem that equals Queenstown for scenery and they certainly put on the fabulous weather for us. For such a quaint little town, it offers plenty to see and do for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaz10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Oinako Lodge was our last stop in NZ and a great way to end our holiday. Yes, it is slightly more expensive than some other B&Bs we stayed in, but worth it. Beautiful property, great location, elegant and comfortable room, delicious breakfast, friendly and attentive hosts. We stayed in 'Magnolia' room and enjoyed the lovely views from both windows. A taste of luxury which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPsauceNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
128 reviews
1.9 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 25 in Akaroa
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.5 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#4 of 25 in Akaroa
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oinako Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oinako Bed and Breakfast

Address: 99 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Oinako Lodge of Akaroa)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: £152 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oinako Bed and Breakfast - Iconic Akaroa Accommodation Oinako is a gorgeous historic home offering premier Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the charming township of Akaroa. Lovingly restored, Oinako features beautiful period details, superb harbour views and peaceful surroundings. Our rooms are elegantly styled with lovely outlooks and deluxe ensuites. Leisurely breakfasts are enjoyed in the original dining room overlooking the garden. Perfectly located on the edge of the harbour; the main pier, shops and restaurants are a two-minute stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oinako Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing