We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottages with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Well appointed cottage in a beautiful setting, a short drive from one of NZ's most picturesque towns. The morning view from our deck was postcard perfect, made even better by the songs of the birds in the bush that surrounds the property. The only drawback, albeit a minor one, is the occasional noise from the nearby road to town.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AxisOfBeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review. It is always great to have positive feedback about our property from people how have enjoyed the property first hand. Take care and we hope to see you back in the future. Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

After completing the Banks Peninsula Track it was lovely to sleep in a comfortable bad and relax in the bath. The white fluffy robes were appreciated too. We stayed in Ashcroft cottage which had two bedrooms and bathroom upstairs and another bedroom, bathroom and living areas downstairs. We had a beautiful view over Akaroa harbour. One night we used the BBQ. The cottage was spotless and the kids loved getting a chocolate. The owners were friendly and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you, We are the perfect plus for any persons straight off the BP track, Relax and unwind with harbour views (if you select a harbour view) and bird song and trees it makes for a very peaceful relaxing stay to unwind and rest the body.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We love akaroa cottages! Great stay in a cottage with a lovely view. We even had Barbi night, there is a lovely butcher in town! Lots of green trees, flowers and birds it is a great place to unwind! Go here!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mentrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again , Take Care Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed two nights in the Bushside cottage.
The whole location is great, although you can't walk into town. However you feel very close to the nature and there are some lovely views.
The cottage is spacious and with the wood burner it could be a home away from home. But it all needs a good clean - furniture and surfaces are dusty and tacky to touch and I suspect the carpet hasn't been hoovered. Bathroom smells musty and again needs a proper clean. I can't even count the amount of hair I found on the bathroom floor and in the bath. ..!!
The bed mattress perhaps saw better days and there is nothing boutique about it.
In all honesty, on the inside it feels like a two star road side motel - that is judged on cleanliness and standard of the furniture. Their brochure is a bit misleading boasting luxury. ..but hopefully review like this will make the owners better it for the next guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review, I am so very sorry the standard of cleaning we expect was not up to scratch, We have been on leave and since arriving back and valuating the property. we have spoken with our staff because it is something we take a lot of proud in how clean our rooms are.
As all cottages are individually owned we as managers have been trying to get upgrades in some of the cottages as all are not like Bushside and have had some new furnishings etc.
I am very sorry, Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I travel all the time, work and fun, and this hotel is the best one i stayed in. Lovely place, amazing view on the sea. The rooms are clean, new, and spacious. Every place is a small house with no neighbors. It's a great place to stay, must stay! You can rent DVDs for free and enjoy watching while the lake is on your other side.

5 min by car to Akaroa down town, 15 min walk

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Travelloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review, We value all reviews , We hope to see you back in the future. Take care until then. Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The cottages are beautiful and have everything you need. I can't speak highly enough of how wonderful this is. Peace and serenity with all the luxury and amenities. Away from the " hustle and bustle tourism" of downtown Akaroa. . We would love to stay another day or 3!
The only slightly scary thing is being city slickers in a Carolla on the shingle / gravel driveway.
We wouldn't hesitate it come back again. R

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Happy New Year Karren61 Thank you for your review, It great to here your positive reviews and look forward to having you back .Take Care Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in a Seaview Cottage overlooking Akaroa Harbour. The unit was large and very well furnished. 2 x 2 lounge plus desk and Queen bed. Well designed kitchenette that had all you need for a short stay. Nice spot to sit outside with a glass of wine watching the sun set over the hills with the harbour in front of you. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and the room with the view was one of the nicest we have stayed in around the world.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to get the seaview room just for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kscott4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your review, it's always great to hear positive feedback. We hope to see you back if you return to Akaroa/NZ. Take care Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Akaroa on the Beach
Akaroa on the Beach
#8 of 22 in Akaroa
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.1 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#10 of 25 in Akaroa
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection

Address: 6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: £93 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akaroa Cottages is part of Heritage Hotels group (Heritage Hotels).We have recently upgraded most of our cottages with new curtains, carpet and paint with some new furnishings. Perfectly located just 1.5 kilometers from the historic and unique French settlement of Akaroa, this idyllic Heritage Collection resort offers luxurious self-contained accommodation in a truly magnificent setting. Capturing the charm of this special location, Akaroa Cottages are crafted from timber and stone and are surrounded by tranquil native bush. These Private spacious cottages are complemented by stunning views of the beautiful Akaroa Harbour and the undulating hills of Banks Peninsula. Most of the Cottages have Double Corner Spa baths, Log burners and Views and they are all privately set. We cater for groups, couples weddings and Families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing