We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall....a little bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall....a little bit disappointed”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This place could be great. The views are outstanding and the cottages charming. There has been some attempt to improve the place with decent curtains and carpet. But some simple thing need fixing such as tv cabinets that should have been thrown out in the 80's and mould in the bathrooms (a good scrub is needed - an update of the bathrooms would be even better). The wifi was awful. Firstly they make you pay for it, and then when you do pay for it it's a pain to log into and the signal keeps dropping out. There was a rain storm during our stay (nothing too major) but the wind and rain kept both bedroom occupants on the top floor awake most of the night. I would hate to sleep there during a really bad night!
There was also no information pack - just menus for local restaurants whom probably pay to advertise. We had 2 bins and didn't know which one was recycling as it was our first night in New Zealand. A few other little things came up but it was too wet to go down to reception, there was no mobile phone coverage in the area and the cottages don't have a landline.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for submitting your review Ben. While some things we can control and have taken on board we can not control how hard it rains. We have been trying to contract a builder to put in new bathrooms and kitchens on the property and unfortunately we still have not been able to. We hoped to have had this completed before our summer of 2014 but have not been able to. The bins both have bags in them and really does not matter which way you put your rubbish/recycling.
Wifi has always been an issue for us and most people comment on this. We are continuously trying to get this sort but because of our location the costs are very high. We do not have phones as we want you to relax with out been interrupted. We do not get Vodafone coverage onsite always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    83
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
36
179
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Havelock, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Well appointed cottage in a beautiful setting, a short drive from one of NZ's most picturesque towns. The morning view from our deck was postcard perfect, made even better by the songs of the birds in the bush that surrounds the property. The only drawback, albeit a minor one, is the occasional noise from the nearby road to town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AxisOfBeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always great to have positive feedback about our property from people how have enjoyed the property first hand. Take care and we hope to see you back in the future. Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
225 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After completing the Banks Peninsula Track it was lovely to sleep in a comfortable bad and relax in the bath. The white fluffy robes were appreciated too. We stayed in Ashcroft cottage which had two bedrooms and bathroom upstairs and another bedroom, bathroom and living areas downstairs. We had a beautiful view over Akaroa harbour. One night we used the BBQ. The cottage was spotless and the kids loved getting a chocolate. The owners were friendly and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you, We are the perfect plus for any persons straight off the BP track, Relax and unwind with harbour views (if you select a harbour view) and bird song and trees it makes for a very peaceful relaxing stay to unwind and rest the body.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We love akaroa cottages! Great stay in a cottage with a lovely view. We even had Barbi night, there is a lovely butcher in town! Lots of green trees, flowers and birds it is a great place to unwind! Go here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mentrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again , Take Care Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed two nights in the Bushside cottage.
The whole location is great, although you can't walk into town. However you feel very close to the nature and there are some lovely views.
The cottage is spacious and with the wood burner it could be a home away from home. But it all needs a good clean - furniture and surfaces are dusty and tacky to touch and I suspect the carpet hasn't been hoovered. Bathroom smells musty and again needs a proper clean. I can't even count the amount of hair I found on the bathroom floor and in the bath. ..!!
The bed mattress perhaps saw better days and there is nothing boutique about it.
In all honesty, on the inside it feels like a two star road side motel - that is judged on cleanliness and standard of the furniture. Their brochure is a bit misleading boasting luxury. ..but hopefully review like this will make the owners better it for the next guests.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your review, I am so very sorry the standard of cleaning we expect was not up to scratch, We have been on leave and since arriving back and valuating the property. we have spoken with our staff because it is something we take a lot of proud in how clean our rooms are.
As all cottages are individually owned we as managers have been trying to get upgrades in some of the cottages as all are not like Bushside and have had some new furnishings etc.
I am very sorry, Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I travel all the time, work and fun, and this hotel is the best one i stayed in. Lovely place, amazing view on the sea. The rooms are clean, new, and spacious. Every place is a small house with no neighbors. It's a great place to stay, must stay! You can rent DVDs for free and enjoy watching while the lake is on your other side.

5 min by car to Akaroa down town, 15 min walk

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your review, We value all reviews , We hope to see you back in the future. Take care until then. Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The cottages are beautiful and have everything you need. I can't speak highly enough of how wonderful this is. Peace and serenity with all the luxury and amenities. Away from the " hustle and bustle tourism" of downtown Akaroa. . We would love to stay another day or 3!
The only slightly scary thing is being city slickers in a Carolla on the shingle / gravel driveway.
We wouldn't hesitate it come back again. R

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Happy New Year Karren61 Thank you for your review, It great to here your positive reviews and look forward to having you back .Take Care Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.5 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection

Property: Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Address: 6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akaroa Cottages is part of Heritage Hotels group (Heritage Hotels).We have recently upgraded most of our cottages with new curtains, carpet and paint with some new furnishings. Perfectly located just 1.5 kilometers from the historic and unique French settlement of Akaroa, this idyllic Heritage Collection resort offers luxurious self-contained accommodation in a truly magnificent setting. Capturing the charm of this special location, Akaroa Cottages are crafted from timber and stone and are surrounded by tranquil native bush. These Private spacious cottages are complemented by stunning views of the beautiful Akaroa Harbour and the undulating hills of Banks Peninsula. Most of the Cottages have Double Corner Spa baths, Log burners and Views and they are all privately set. We cater for groups, couples weddings and Families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing