We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, relaxing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at Akaroa Cottages, this time for 7 nights. On both occasions we have had excellent service, clean and comfortable accommodation. We love the view from the deck, living area and bedroom. We also love the location, very quiet, lovely grounds with pleasant birdsong all day long. Distance from town is not an issue for us as we had a car. We spent the majority of our stay exploring the many bays and villages.

Room Tip: Overton Cottage is a lovely 1 bedroom cottage with a wood heater and fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetCKiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi Janet, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, It was lovely to meet you both and hope to see you again. Take care till them Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had one night at the Akaroa Cottages and would have liked to spend a bit longer here.
It was a lovely wee cottage and had a fire that we lit. We did feel that the 10 min walk to get into town would have been a bit misleading as it seemed a bit further out than this, and you would have to be walking on the main road. Apart from that is was exactly what we wanted and it was private and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, While the walk along the main road down into the village timing is different for everyone 10-20 mins to the rec ground is about normal. This walk is not for everyone and i don't recommend in the winter months as it is too dark. We hope to see you back again for maybe more than just the one night. Take Care Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely view but was under the impression the view was closer. 10 minute walk to Restaurants is very misleading. It would take 10 minutes to reach the road and then a very dangerous walk along the main road as there are no foot paths. Probably more like 30 minutes walk and quite a bit uphill. You need a car. Room was very cosy and pleasant but I thought the stereo system a little outdated as a cassette player and no cd or iPod jack. I thought the hand written note to welcome us was a very nice touch. Also no tissues in the room. Beautiful pot belly open fire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriellew463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property, The furthest restaurant away would take 30 mins the closet to us would take 10-15 min depending on how fast you walk . We are gradually upgrading equipment as needed and have looked into getting some docking stations for each room. I have talked to housekeeping as all rooms should have tissues in the bathroom cupboard and is something that should be checked off between guests. All our photo's on our site do not show waterfront views, We are in the gully just above children's bay set in the native bush. I do hope you will return next time you are in Akaroa as we are the only place with stand alone cottages with log fires and spa baths. Take care M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

First, I have to say that Akaroa Cottages was a lifesaver. Our original accommodations were cancelled due to earthquake damage 2 months before our stay (which was over a holiday - December 30/31 2010). I was so worried we wouldn't be able to find an alternative place to stay, but Meg was extremely accommodating and hooked us up with the Bushside cottage.

The cottage was roomy and clean, and while we couldn't really see the water due to trees, still enjoyed the view. We had a good experience at this property and really loved Akaroa.

Room Tip: The Bushside cottage does not have views to the water (looking at the updated website, the cottage n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you Laura, I am so very please we were able to help you and your partner. while our Seaview cottages not set directly on the waterfront they do have views of the harbour each one is different as shown from the sunset picture that was taken from your deck it shows the water. This winter we really plan on cutting back a lot of the tree's to emphasize the views and even taking some out. We hope to see you back and i am really happy that we were able to help you especially at that very busy time for us. Take care Meg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at Akaroa cottages in February this year for 2 nights. We stayed in a seaview studio, which did indeed have a fab view & wonderful setting.
The accommodation is average, rather than luxury, but was clean & served as a good base for exploring Akaroa, which is just gorgeous! The bed was rather basic & bathroom was functional but clean & well stocked with toiletries & towels.
There are no facilities to buy food here, so you need to bring some breakfast with you, or better still, pop down to Bully Hayes on the harbour front where you can get a wonderful breakfast & enjoy the view.
Akaroa is well worth the trip out from Christchurch - but the peace & quiet is shattered when there's a cruise ship in the harbour, which thankfully isn't every day!
You will need to drive from the cottages to akaroa as it's really rather unsafe to walk & quite a distance at night.
A good place to relax at the start of a long road trip around South Island .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth it for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelaxat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you Angelaxat for your review. We valued every-bodies honest take on our property. We are self catering cottages while in an ideal world i would really like to have a restaurant onsite it's not going to happen any time soon. We do have a continental Breakfast basket and we are re introducing a new mini bar again, which will be available from the reception. Everybody has their own views on walking from the cottages to the village some including myself don't have a problem it takes around 15-20mins depending how fast you walk. Take care and hope to see you back sometime. Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was the last night of our stay in New Zealand and was a wonderful way to finish our holiday. The cottage was comfortable and the charm of the log fire would be wonderful if the weather was inclement. Our hosts were wonderful and full of local information on sites and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for you review, Great hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you back in the future. Take care Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

These cottages are top quality with every need attended to including a wood burning stove. It's luxury in a fantastic location and the manager, Megan did a brilliant job in looking after us. Very highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi John, It was our pleasure to have you stay, even if we didn't have power because of the storm. We hope maybe next time you come back you will stay again. Take care to both of you. Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
3.7 mi away
Twin Gullies B&B
Twin Gullies B&B
#7 of 25 in Akaroa
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.2 mi away
Mt Vernon Lodge
Mt Vernon Lodge
#13 of 23 in Akaroa
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#20 of 23 in Akaroa
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection

Address: 6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: £115 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akaroa Cottages is part of Heritage Hotels group (Heritage Hotels).We have recently upgraded most of our cottages with new curtains, carpet and paint with some new furnishings. Perfectly located just 1.5 kilometers from the historic and unique French settlement of Akaroa, this idyllic Heritage Collection resort offers luxurious self-contained accommodation in a truly magnificent setting. Capturing the charm of this special location, Akaroa Cottages are crafted from timber and stone and are surrounded by tranquil native bush. These Private spacious cottages are complemented by stunning views of the beautiful Akaroa Harbour and the undulating hills of Banks Peninsula. Most of the Cottages have Double Corner Spa baths, Log burners and Views and they are all privately set. We cater for groups, couples weddings and Families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing