We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Cottage
Ranked #14 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was a beautiful place at the end of our trip to New Zealand. The cottage is surrounded by a fantastic garden and Rosie and Allistair will do everything to make you feel at home. A fantastic breakfast with home made products is served every day in the kitchen/dining area and the cottage is comfortable. Of course, it is an older building and not all facilities are very "flashy" but that is what we liked so much in this place. Compared with the really kind owners, the weather and the garden, the last stop on our New Zealand journey felt a little bit like paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doyleston, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Can't find anything that went wrong! the cottage is beautifully restored and so quirky, even in winter with miserable weather is warm and welcoming! We arrived and find the logfire on, fresh flowers around, baked treats, heaters on.....so welcoming! thanks to Rosie and Alistair, they are great hosts! it made our elopment perfect! the fridge was full of great food for breakfast and snacks! the bacon was so tasty! the garden was beautiful, shame the weather didn't let us enjoy it more! but it's so quiet that we could listen to all the birds from the warmth of the lounge! I could go on for ages to praise it, can't wait to be back for a treat.....maybe for our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

What can I say. We didn't want to leave. Wonderful hosts, wonderful gardens, 10 minutes walk to the town centre and so peaceful day or night. Magnificent 1850's restored cottage in beautifully manicured gardens. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stay here if you can, I will be supprised if you don't have a wonderful experience. Great for a couple or even a family. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights with our 10 year old daughter and 14 year old son. This was the first time on our trip that they did not go looking for their ipods or electronics to entertain themselves. They were busy exploring up and down the stream and in out of the magnificent gardens, for hours! worth the stay just for this. I recommend eating chocolates under the walnut tree or a glass of wine if you prefer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Point, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Our family of 4 stayed overnight in this amazing historic cottage and we all just had one thing to say - "We wish we could stay longer!" Our teenagers loved exploring the expansive gardens.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This place is Heaven. We did not want to leave. The cottage is stunning with a wood burning stove and well stocked fridge and is set in the most beautiful gardens with its own stream. Rosie and Alistair were so friendly and helpful and provided the best B&B breakfast I have ever had. We had not originally planned to go to akaroa on our honeymoon as it was a change of plans due to the earthquake but mill cottage is now a must stop for when we go back to NZ. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. YOU MUST STAY HERE :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M00NEYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Beautiful location and historical cottage in Akaroa. Recommended

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bung91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.9 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 23 in Akaroa
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Annandale
Annandale
#8 of 23 in Akaroa
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Cottage

Property: Mill Cottage
Address: 81 Rue Grehan, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing