We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the most wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Cottage
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just the most wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

We are a family of five ( three teenage daughters). We stayed for three nights at Mill Cottage. After a long drive we arrived at Akaroa and our first impressions were..." this place looks wonderful!!" and after three days we were sad to leave as we truely loved our stay at Mill Cottage. The cottage has been lovingly resotred to its former glory and sits in a large very well looked after and beautiful garden and is a 5 minute walk to the village. The cottage is very comfortable with a master bedroom downstairs and two smaller bedrooms upstairs. I suggest you look at the web site to see pictures as it is really that lovely! The hosts ( Alistar and Rosie) went out of there way to help make our stay enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble. As we were unware the cottage has no oven ( it does has hotplates to cook on) we had purchased a roast for dinner. This was not a hassle as Rosie gave us a roasting pan to prepapre the meat and popped it in her oven and brought the cooked meal to us at the cottage. At all times both Alistar and Rosie were fantastic hosts. I highly recommend Mill Cottage to anyone who wants a lovely cottage in Akaroa with kind and generous hosts. This was one of our favourite places to stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed in the Garden Room for the last two nights of our South Island honeymoon - a spectacular finish to a wonderful trip! Rosie and Alistair are wonderful, attentive hosts who made us feel right at home with many thoughtful details to welcome us and useful advice about Akaroa. They helped us make a reservation for dinner in town and prepared us a lovely, fresh breakfast with delicious pastries on the patio, looking out over the beautiful, unique garden, which has many hidden details to discover and enjoy. We relaxed in the garden by the fruit trees, fed the ducklings, savored a nice wine with local cheese and chutney, and slept wonderfully in the comfortable and beautiful cottage-style room with a modern ensuite bathroom. We can't wait to go back someday!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollosViajeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

we stayed 2 nights in the main cottage. Rooms as wedding favors, beautiful patio and garden. Virtually facing a veritable botanical garden with a stream running beside it. Owners very friendly and nice. The cottage where every woman would want to live.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JThulot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

The climbing roses on the wrap around porch frame your view of the seemingly endless lush gardens of hydrangeas and lavender. Charming and quaint, the restored 1872 cabin has its quirts (shower at one end, toilet at the other), but it offers extreme privacy and the ultimate in restful environments. When you make a reservation, be sure to specify whether or not you wish breakfast to be included. Loved the experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmmerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

This place is beautiful, a HIDDEN GEM, full of historical charm, character and cosy comforts. What a find! So glad we stayed there. A highlight to our fantastic NZ trip. Reasonably priced too considering you get the whole cosy historic cottage to yourself ,and you can enjoy the huge garden filled with fruit trees, and a cooked breakfast is provided. You can even have it on the verandah if weather permits.

The cottage has been beautifully restored and lovingly kept. The verandah looking on the mature garden is a great place to just chill with some of the complimentary wine and biscuits. The hosts are warm and welcoming and extremely helpful. They even gave us a gift ( a pretty diary).

Try to arrive in the daylight as drive into Akaroa is dark and windy!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosycottager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

This was a real surprise. We were totally bowled over by the beauty of this place. It is set back up off the main drag and there is just the most incredible silence around it. The cottage is magnificantly restored and and the owners are fantastic people. We could have stayed here longer but our schedule did not allow, Highlights are the beautiful gardens, the little welcome tray, the beautiful rooms and the fantastic breakfasts. Honestly, this place is great! Look at the photos which dont do it justice at all!

  • Liked — Wonderfuly restored, lots of character, great owners, A joy to stay here
  • Disliked — Enjoyed every second of it!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monty71736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2007

Mill Cottage, in the French-settled village of Akaroa, is a discovery
we congratulated ourselves over finding. The owners, Delyse and Brian
Stringett, went all the way to perfect our (sadly) one-night stay on a five-day car trip between the two islands and trout fishing ranches. It is one of those bucolic, throw-back little paradises you read about in Jane Austen. Do visit Delyse and Brian if you want a true getaway experience! - Mac & Ross Francis, New York City

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank newyorkcityangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.9 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#3 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Cottage

Property: Mill Cottage
Address: 81 Rue Grehan, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing