We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely heritage cottage in large private garden”
Review of Mill Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Cottage
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely heritage cottage in large private garden”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Beautiful location and historical cottage in Akaroa. Recommended

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2010

You feel as if you have stepped back in time (with all the modern conveniences) while staying at Mill Cottage. One feels as if you have your own little slice of paradise with gardens and greenery surrounding you from your wrap around porch. Rosie and Alisdair were perfect hosts always there when needed and giving you the feeling of complete quiet and relaxation. We breakfasted both mornings on the porch since we were most fortunate with great weather and Alisdair and Rosie joined us for a much appreciated glass of wine in the late afternoon. Breakfasts were excellent and extra kudoes for providing them fresh and hot from across the large garden area!

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

We are a family of five ( three teenage daughters). We stayed for three nights at Mill Cottage. After a long drive we arrived at Akaroa and our first impressions were..." this place looks wonderful!!" and after three days we were sad to leave as we truely loved our stay at Mill Cottage. The cottage has been lovingly resotred to its former glory and sits in a large very well looked after and beautiful garden and is a 5 minute walk to the village. The cottage is very comfortable with a master bedroom downstairs and two smaller bedrooms upstairs. I suggest you look at the web site to see pictures as it is really that lovely! The hosts ( Alistar and Rosie) went out of there way to help make our stay enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble. As we were unware the cottage has no oven ( it does has hotplates to cook on) we had purchased a roast for dinner. This was not a hassle as Rosie gave us a roasting pan to prepapre the meat and popped it in her oven and brought the cooked meal to us at the cottage. At all times both Alistar and Rosie were fantastic hosts. I highly recommend Mill Cottage to anyone who wants a lovely cottage in Akaroa with kind and generous hosts. This was one of our favourite places to stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed in the Garden Room for the last two nights of our South Island honeymoon - a spectacular finish to a wonderful trip! Rosie and Alistair are wonderful, attentive hosts who made us feel right at home with many thoughtful details to welcome us and useful advice about Akaroa. They helped us make a reservation for dinner in town and prepared us a lovely, fresh breakfast with delicious pastries on the patio, looking out over the beautiful, unique garden, which has many hidden details to discover and enjoy. We relaxed in the garden by the fruit trees, fed the ducklings, savored a nice wine with local cheese and chutney, and slept wonderfully in the comfortable and beautiful cottage-style room with a modern ensuite bathroom. We can't wait to go back someday!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

we stayed 2 nights in the main cottage. Rooms as wedding favors, beautiful patio and garden. Virtually facing a veritable botanical garden with a stream running beside it. Owners very friendly and nice. The cottage where every woman would want to live.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cupertino, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The climbing roses on the wrap around porch frame your view of the seemingly endless lush gardens of hydrangeas and lavender. Charming and quaint, the restored 1872 cabin has its quirts (shower at one end, toilet at the other), but it offers extreme privacy and the ultimate in restful environments. When you make a reservation, be sure to specify whether or not you wish breakfast to be included. Loved the experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This place is beautiful, a HIDDEN GEM, full of historical charm, character and cosy comforts. What a find! So glad we stayed there. A highlight to our fantastic NZ trip. Reasonably priced too considering you get the whole cosy historic cottage to yourself ,and you can enjoy the huge garden filled with fruit trees, and a cooked breakfast is provided. You can even have it on the verandah if weather permits.

The cottage has been beautifully restored and lovingly kept. The verandah looking on the mature garden is a great place to just chill with some of the complimentary wine and biscuits. The hosts are warm and welcoming and extremely helpful. They even gave us a gift ( a pretty diary).

Try to arrive in the daylight as drive into Akaroa is dark and windy!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.9 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Mill Cottage

Property: Mill Cottage
Address: 81 Rue Grehan, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing