We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fish & Chips in NZ!”

Akaroa Fish and Chips
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips in NZ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Finally, a shop who knows how to make a decent fish & chips! We tried the orange roughy and were not disappointed!! We've eaten fish & chips from this shop before and were as equally impressed on past occasions! (We've had very disappointing fish fillets at some other takeaway shops and were beginning to think NZ didn't know how to cook decent fish & chips! We are aussies and we LOVE our fish & chips! Thankfully, the Akaroa Fish Shop restored our faith in NZ takeaway shops!) A decent size serving.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mims-memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    194
    61
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best fresh fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have tried fresh fish around Nz and this was the best and freshest fish that we had. Whitebait Sammie was pretty good too, even better without the bun.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank missiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy, fresh oil - a hit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Ok so let's get over that it's a bit more expensive because of its location. We got 2 pieces of fried blue cod, chips to share and 2 600ml drinks for $27. So normally that might be $20 or so because of the location.

Even if I don't care about the location I'm still willing to pay the extra money for the freshness and crispness of this chips and big serves of fresh fish in beautiful lite and crispy batter.

The chips were the steak variety and fried to perfection - some potatoey with a thin outer golden crispy layer, some crispy all the way through. Very hot very fresh not a single soggy one in there.

The fish. Very fresh and cooked to perfection was the blue cod. The batter was light and crispy and thin. Not that flick doughy type of batter.

Not a bad effort from the kiwis I do have to say.

On top of all of that you have the location. Wow. Grab you fish and chips, rip open the bag straight away to avoid a soggy disaster (that's the real secret to fish and chips) and go sit somewhere to take it in.

It's even possible to do it from the shop to avoid and chance of steam ruining those perfect fish and chips!!

Helpful?
Thank Sleeprequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Reputation deserved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Excellent fish and chips served in wrapped plain paper. Good portions, decent prices. Light crisp batter. Pay extra for the blue cod - it's worth it. Then grab one of the outdoor picnic tables out front and enjoy the view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Akaroa Fish and Chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Went to Akaroa Fish and Chips in a group of about 20 folks. They obviously cope with large influxes of people as the cruise ships come to Akaroa over the Summer. The trip to Akaroa is obviously well worth the trip. The portions were reasonably small compared to Christchurch offerings and quite pricey however the quality was good. The group in general felt that it was good but not great but Akaroa makes up for it. Staff were friendly and the service was good. Overall I can recommend this establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zardoz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Fish and Chips also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing