We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
French Farm Winery & Function Centre
Ranked #26 of 30 Restaurants in Akaroa
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Contemporary, New Zealand
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Quick visit to this excellent winery. Lovely glass of Sav B and a starter in front of a roaring fire. Wish I could have stayed longer - full menu looked very interesting. Definitely worth another visit to this spot, good setting off the beaten track and super hospitality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Absolutely, the best place in the Akaroa area for dinner!!!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I am shocked this is not #1 in Akaroa and the surrounding area.. the only reason it may not be YET is it is a few minutes out of the town centre and many tourists may not know about it.... IF they did... this would be the only place they'd go.
The venue is amazing... a beautiful vineyard setting with a Versailles style building.
Our waitress was Irish and had an wonderful knowledge of the kitchen and food offerings. We had the fish special... (amazing); also stuffed chicken (the sauce was to die for); the monkfish wrapped in prosciutto; and salmon cakes.... all were marvelous. Our wine pairings were very good (not great.. but good). Prices were much better than in town centre... most main dishes ranged from $22 to $28. We are from the U.S...... have travelled to 66 countries... have been on this trip for 5 weeks in Australia and New Zealand.....this by far has been our best meal yet... just a wonderful dining experience all around!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the Sun”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a wonderful lunch here. We arrived early for lunch and there were a few people inside and out and we opted for in as the wind had a chill to it. The atmosphere in and out was very relaxing. Service was quick and friendly and plenty of options.

I had fishcakes which were so tasty and piping hot, my husband finished with a sticky toffee pudding which was as light as a feather. The setting and food means this needs to be a date in the diary.

They have a diary of events but need to check as they have weddings and I can see why it was stunning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janesmithhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food and service. An amazing venue for any event. Intend to come here again. Highly recommended. Thank you French Farm.

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spring Afternoon”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The setting is amazing, the building really beautiful. A wonderful place to spend an afternoon having lunch. We got there late 3ish and they where happy to accommodate the food order. I had the pumpkin soup ( which was really good) my husband had a steak, and my daughter the pizza. The food choices are varied and suitable for all tastes. The wine they make is good, and its a very pleasant thing to eat and drink at leisure. The summer I imagine would be great for eating outside. Have visited now 3 times over the years, it only gets better. Very friendly staff add to the great experience. Thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Farm Winery & Function Centre also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to French Farm Winery & Function Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing