We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mental manager!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez la Mer Backpackers
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mental manager!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival to the hostel we were greeted by the manager on shift. She had a go at us for 5 minutes for not ringing the doorbell. Despite us apologising profusely for this, her monologue dragged on!
She also made us have an extra room, despite requesting only 5 beds, she have us a twin a double and a triple! Enough to sleep 7!
I have stayed here before and was served by a bloke that worked here. He was great! He doesn't service the poor service rating!

The showers are a joke! can you call a cubical a shower if no water runs from the shower head? The one downstairs is slightly better, but that's not saying much. The kitchen, and rooms all are fine. Clean, decent space.

Can get quite noisy as the walls are pretty thin! You won't get much of a lie in.
There are much nicer and cheaper places to stay in akaroa! I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irabaimatova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    46
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
29
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights and enjoyed my stay. Great location right in the centre and they have a sailing boat to take people out on and it was great to see the village from the water plus the bonus was the dolphins we saw.

The hostel is small and takes quiete a few people but it makes a cosy atmosphere where you can meet lots of other people too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbud358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The hostel immediately has a peacfull spirit around it and is a good place to regain energy and rest. The garden with its pond and fish are very relaxing. Clean kitchen, rooms, showers which is not always the case at backpackers. Staff very friendly. Fred wifi. Near located to downtown. Free bike rentals

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank die-Vici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Chez la Mer for 2 nights, once in the ensuite double and again in the standard double upstairs.

We felt the hostel was really below the standard we got used to during our 1.5 months trip in NZ.

For the first tine in NZ, we were greeted by a 'cash only' policy which made us withdraw money from the ATM and pay an unnecessary surcharge. This of course was not mentioned at time of booking.

The hostel has combined showers and toilets, and not nearly enough of them (one on each floor) so you always have to time your visits, and once you got to it,
It was nearly impossible to shower with the non existent hot water stream pressure.

The kitchens were small and only had one cooker each.

There was no visible after hours noise control policy which made the first night quite noisy.

Overall we felt it didn't measure up to our expectations.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Best damn back packer in the world bar none! The lady who works is super friendly and everything is on par with an amazing bed and breakfast!
Nothing to fault and everything to praise! Clean rooms, central location and excellent facilities! Even free bikes and fishing rods to use. Just simply everything is excellent! Beds are comfy, bathrooms are neat and clean and the crowd here seems to be generally more "intelligent" than your run of the mill loud and rowdy Germans who have flocked everywhere in New Zealand.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have been visiting this wonderfilled, interesting nest with different aged members of my family for over 20 years. The once immaculate & spring fragrant herb gardens have become a delicious rambling, featuring a tranquil box hedged water feature and several private nests for outdoor quiet time.
We were walmy welcomed & our room, (Queen Twin with ensuite = highly recommended) was clean.
I must mention, that as the currrent owners do not live on-site and the establishment is run primarily by travellers ... the gardens could have done with a few hours work ...
We loved the dog, which was not the one featured on the pic on the back gate ...
These are all petty and little things ~ I'll return again for sure :)

Room Tip: Try for the upstairs Queen-Twin ~ with ensuite ~~~~ other bathrooms get VERY busy ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoinetteFiji2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I just loved staying at that hostel. We were there in August and got a room all to ourselves. Our room looked a bit girlish (all purple), which I just loved. This hostel certainly is different, but absolutely great. It's got a very positive attitude and you feel welcome and home right when you enter the front door. They have two kitchens, which are very spacious, a very cozy fireplace and the bathrooms are quite nice. The water pressure in the showers, however, wasn't really good. It took a while until you were all wet, but it's probably different is summer. Akaroa itself is marvelous. You will love it. It's so tiny, sweet and cute, and there are plenty hiking options around the peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranziskaS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez la Mer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez la Mer Backpackers

Property: Chez la Mer Backpackers
Address: 50 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Banks Peninsula while staying in the heart of historic Akaroa. Enjoy free gourmet brewed coffee and tea. Relax in the tranquil garden, take one of the many area walks and kayak (or swim) with hector dolphins. Free mountain bikes and fishing rods. Heated rooms and fully made up beds. Owners offer special discounts to guests on their dolphin/wildlife sailing cruise aboard the Fox II. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing