We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”
Review of Akaroa Museum

Akaroa Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Akaroa Self Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #8 of 32 things to do in Akaroa
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Only a very small museum but very interesting and informative. Nice friendly and knowledgeable staff. Enjoyed the film about Kaikoura.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    61
    25
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More than it appears!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We nearly didn't tour the Akaroa Museum as at first it didn't appear to be anything but a single room with a few photos, however $5 was cheap, so we considered it a donation. We were very pleasantly surprised to be directed to the building next door (old Court House) and it contained a wealth of interesting information. We spent over an hour here and certainly got our money's worth.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Extremely interesting”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Museums are not places I would normally visit, but I am so glad I visited this one. Although some of the building has been closed off due to the recent earthquake, there is a wealth of information in the remaining rooms and my husband and I learnt so much about the history of the area and its people. The lady at the desk was very helpful, giving us really interesting facts and stories about the people in some of the portraits and she even photocopied some passages which she thought we might be interested in - so thank you very much.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
253 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A must see even though its not big”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Unfortunately the Canterbury earthquakes have make half the museum inaccessible. But the part that is open includes the audio visual which is well worth the $8 admission for the whole family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,492 reviews
1,387 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,313 helpful votes
“Nice,well curated museum.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Along the waterfront, from the Garden of Tane to Jubilee Park,this museum has displays of historic interest,a testament to the area's multicultural past.
The collections,tell some of the exciting stories of Kai Tahu,the 'people of the land'. Within the complex is housed the old court house and a two-roomed cottage of an early French settler.
Cost NZ$5. Great if the weather is not the brightest.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Museum also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing