We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not so modern but fine and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Rive Akaroa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Rive Akaroa Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Europe
Level Contributor
110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Not so modern but fine and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

The only less positive thing I would say about this motel, where I stayed in early February 2011, is that the furniture and the equipment are not so modern. However everything worked well, the unit we had (we were just 2) was very spacious, beds were comfortable and pleasant, and the bathroom was very clean, like the whole unit.
The unit we had was on the ground floor where on one side there is the parking and on the other, a small grassy garden that guests can enjoy.
The area is very quite and peaceful and, although the motel lays in the entrance of Akaroa, it takes less than 10 minutes on foot to be in Akaroa's centre (Akaroa is really small, by the way, but very nice and pleasant).
In regards to the owners, we didn't have any problem at all with them. In fact we just saw them and talked to them when we arrived with out pre-booking from the Akaroa I-Site and we got the keys. So no issues at all. On the contrary everything was easy and we had a good sleep and stay. I would definitely stay here again, as what this motel offers is enough for me.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    21
    16
    8
See reviews for
21
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

A great value motel, with great service. Not quite as close to town centre as some other motels but a only a 5 min walk anyway.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We took a chance and booked a studio room at La Rive having read that it had been given a makeover, were sorry we hadn't paid a bit more and stayed in one of the more modern properties in Akaroa.
Our room was very tired looking and the furniture hadn't been moved to vacuum recently. The fridge made a terrible noise and the latch on the window was broken but because we didn't see our host until we were checking out the next morning there wasn't much opportunity to address these problems.
You get what you pay for so if travelling on a budget this property may suit, at least the bed was clean, the room was quite big and had a nice private outdoor area, but we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieAusssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Akaroa hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Rotton and unkempt. With lazy owners who always have silly signs on door. Bring janola

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaxta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

The place needs a total refurb to bring it up to any sort of standard. Anything made of wood is rotten - the walkway, the window frames, the doors. We stayed in a ground floor, 2-bedroom unit, and although the carpet was new, the unit it was draughty and cold with dated decor and a run down bathroom. It is a long way from town as well. The photos on Tripadvisor must have been taken years ago, because it sure doesn't look anything like them now.
The best things: it was spotlessly clean, and is opposite a nice pub.
Could be improved? The service! We stayed for three days, and were absentmindedly offered fresh towels after two days, and our bed was never made.
There are lots of nicer places to stay than this in Akaroa.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
1,159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

Unhappy ! Shower glass was putrid as was the mirror in the bathroom. No bathmat or hand towel supplied. Cobwebs and dead bugs on the bedroom wall. Located on a busy bend but traffic noise was okay. Office is located in side street for safety reasons.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

For its class of hotel, La Rive is terrific. Staying three nights, I had a choice room upstairs under the pointy turret, with a charming little balcony and a useful kitchenette. The staff were kind, helpful, and efficient, whether assisting with personal laundry or advising on the best driving routes back to the main coastline. The host took care to point out that I might have overpaid my travel agent, as the listing on my booking chit showed a level above the actual one. I enjoyed the leg-stretching walk to such restaurants as Ma Maison, uptown to the grocery store and internet cafe, and onwards to the tourist shops, the Blue Wharf and even the lighthouse. Folks who need fancy digs would not be so happy; however, I will stay here again any chance I get.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.1 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.8 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rive Akaroa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rive Akaroa Motel

Property: La Rive Akaroa Motel
Address: 1 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rive Akaroa Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Rive Akaroa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rive Akaroas Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing