We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Rive Akaroa Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable Motel”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed one night to attend a wedding over Easter in Akaroa. Comfortable, friendly staff. We made sure we had a room away from the main road which made the room quiter as it is on the corner of a busy main road. Good shower.

Room Tip: away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    21
    21
    16
    8
See reviews for
21
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

After such a long drive to reach Akaroa was very very disappointed to see our room - negotiating the rickety outside steps (steep and narrow) no easy task with heavy suitcase etc. Looked like the 'couldn't care less room'. Rooms 6 7 and 8 are all upstairs access. Grubby, dated - bathroom defo requires repairs and updating, kitchen too. Desperation saw us pay way over what this room deserved -little choice with everywhere else booked up. Thankful for the slept brought on by exhaustion rather than anything else - was out of there as soon as the cuppa went down. WOULDN'T RECOMMEND TO ANYONE.

Room Tip: Always ask about access to the room - ours was up rickety wooden narrow steps. Difficult to negotia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yourchoic e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Akaroa hotels

Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I have rated this motel very good because it was ideally priced for the group I was with and provided all that we needed.While not your most modern establishment, we found La Rive to be comfortable and very clean and great value for money.The beds were good, there was plenty of hot water and the kitchen was well equipped.The friendly host was most helpful with any extras we required and gave us a special rate for our group of ten.Situated within walking distance of the town,there is a family pub just across the road.We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillsflat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvetot, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Very old fashioned motel. Looks pretty, but the inside is uncomfortable. Bad situation, at the entrance on a crossroad.

Helpful?
Thank Colvert52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyup Brook, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We struggled to find a place to fit our family in the summer holiday season - Akaroa is deservedly a busy place with a lot to see and do. La Rive was adequate for our needs. I'm not sure on price, as my sister booked, but everything was VERY basic. We did, however, have a room opening onto a beautiful, jasmine covered patio, amazing weather and a nice bloke helping out on the desk. We cut our stay a night short and went on to our next destination, and we might have stayed were the rooms a bit more than just adequate.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank emilou_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We made a spec phone booking by using AA book from 3 hrs drive away, boy what a mistake!
This place is tired, dirty, cramped and very unwelcoming. The owner had advised his absence for the evening but was clearly still away next morning when we wished to discuss the unit.

The kitchen was minimally stocked with an op shop collection including a 1970 style electric frypan that had obviously never been taken to pieces for a proper clean, maybe the reason why it was so dirty the previous guests just gave up leaving it in a right state. It is up to motel owners to check everything prior to a new guest.

There were loads of smart motels vacant, noted when we strolled the village so a lesson learned, if mid week and out of season it should be possible to view a unit of your choice and find a decent place to stay. Be warned, locals later told us La Rive is known as the worst in town.

Room Tip: Doubt if there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This must be the worst accommodation in Akaroa. Shabby and down at heel and it shows as soon as you walk in the door. Mismatched cutlery, glasses etc do not help. No management available on arrival or departure but they have your credit card number so they aren't worried. Tight car park if you have anything bigger than a mini. Electric frying pan was dirty and when I took the bottom off to wash it there was caked grease from about the build date of the property! Saucepans were too small to boil asparagus spears in! Low end backpackers may enjoy this but we did not.The whole place could do with bulldozing and rebuilding. The situation on the corner of the main street does not help due to traffic noise. Also the sound effects when the people upstairs got back from the pub and started to empty their bladders was unwelcome to say the least. This was repeated twice during the night. Searching for a socket to plug in a laptop I discovered a dust covered dead bee under the bedside table.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOFFREY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.1 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.8 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#8 of 24 in Akaroa
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rive Akaroa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rive Akaroa Motel

Property: La Rive Akaroa Motel
Address: 1 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rive Akaroa Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Rive Akaroa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rive Akaroas Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing