We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Rive Akaroa Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location”
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We spent two days on our honeymoon at La Rive. We stayed in a large studio with a kitchen. We had plenty of space, and it was nice to have a little refrigerator for leftovers and the like. The room was on the older side, but it was clean and in good shape. What really makes this place is the staff -- everyone there went out of their way to be friendly and helpful to us, from helping us book tours to letting us use the Internet. If you're going to spend most of your day running around and are looking for a clean, comfortable place to retire at night, I'd highly recommend this one.

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    20
    21
    16
    8
See reviews for
21
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcsatle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

This was a loveley little hotel, very spacious and quainte. The whole place was beautiful, it is abit far out and quiet a hard drive but totally worth it

  • Liked — Leafy and cute
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Williams86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We stayed in the "l'apartment" for three nights in May 2008. It is a two bedroom apartment and apparently we got it for a very good price (I think Akaroa may be a bit overpriced). Even though this was a refurbished apartment it had been done a bit on the cheap so was still looking a bit tired. A radiator and fan heater was used for heating (plus electric blankets) and this wasn't really sufficient in May. It only has one three seater couch for lounging in so if two couples were sharing there would be insufficient seating.

The courtyard in front is nice and in Summer would be well utilised.

Servicing of our room left a little to be desired (eg beds weren't made) but otherwise the people there were fairly helpful.

Akaroa township is very attractive. La Rive is located upon entry into the town however I think the other end of town may be a bit more attractive place to stay (Rue Jolie end). That said the Grand Hotel serves very good meals over the road from La Rive and Vangionis have really good pizza.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank stay3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore, Auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

The decor was definitely looking tired but everything was very clean, and the beds were superbly comfortable. It was a nice friendly place to stay and the staff were very good. If it is being refurbished as I've heard it will be perfect.

The space for a family of 5 was excellent (and hard to find in Akaroa).

The location was good and easy to locate. We love Akaroa and went away feeling well rested and happy.

  • Liked — Lots of space and great beds.
  • Disliked — Old decor.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krispa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

We staying at La Rive for one night. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. They are in the process of updating all rooms. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recomend this place for all. We stayed in a 2 room motel, queensize bed in one room and queensize and single in the other room. An easy walk into Akaroa township and down to the beach. A walk across the Road takes you the the Grand Hotel where the meals are reasonably priced and also a good deal. Upstairs and downstairs accommodation is provided, suits couples or family groups.

  • Liked — Clean and tidy and close to all amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlynChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2007

I was in Akaroa for an early morning dolphin swim so decide to place in this quaint "French" village. Nice comfy room. Room had a full kitchen (including a oven with a burner so I made some ramen!), ensuite bathroom, electric blanket and cable TV. The owner were kind enough to let me check out at noon (I came from the dolphin cruise at 11 am and wanted to shower before heading to Christchurch). Very satisfied with the hotel (and I was in the room on the second floor in the corner so I had a small balcony to see the street corner and look downtown.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lighthouseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

I just spent the weekend in Akaroa, and stayed at La Rive.

The unit was large and roomy, and very modern. It has all been very tastefully decorated. The furniture was all new as was the kitchen unit, plus the bathroom.
It had it's own deck with a barbeque area (which would be great in the summer).
There was a selection of tea, instant coffee, plunger coffee & hot chocolate, plus biscuits in the kitchen.

The bathroom had a good amount of soap and shampoo for guests, plus there was a blow dryer in the vanity unit.

We noticed that the unit next door was being painted, so they are in the process of making all the units more modern.

Overall, it was spotless and comfortable plus the owners were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness & service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ChCh_kiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.1 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.8 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rive Akaroa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rive Akaroa Motel

Property: La Rive Akaroa Motel
Address: 1 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rive Akaroa Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Rive Akaroa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rive Akaroas Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing