We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only soso”
Review of Bon Accord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bon Accord
Ranked #20 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only soso”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I can't remember what lead me here but should have checked out Tripadvisor before. It looks good on the photos but actually is a little tired and need of a renovation. Prob. you will find a better place on the peninsula.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TribbleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
458 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three nights. Not bad At all. Certainly no luxury French hotel but nevertheless a cheap and decent option smackI the middle of akaroa!!! Rooms are somewhat clean and the American lady who owns/runs the place is totally chill

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at cottage facing garden. The place appeared run down and needs some upgrading. Furniture and electrical appliances were old. The bed cannot support our weight and sinks when we slept on it. The towels were old and we couldn't bring ourselves to use them. The kitchenette was small and we decided not to cook. There is no parking on site. We had to park across the street. Of all the accommodation we have in South Island, this is the worse.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Forest1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Akaroa hotels

Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We had our stay at Bon Accord end of December for 3 nights. The cottage is pretty much worn, one main light is down, and the whole is not too tidy. The cooking facility (oven, hotplate as well as pans and pots) had patina, and we completely refrained from cooking there. The location is ok, internet is free, and the nights are quiet. One stay overnight will be ok there, but our 3 nights were too much.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Menno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Booked the accommodation 4 months in advance and had email confirmation. On arrival I was informed that there was no booking and in an indifferent manner by the owner. It was disappointing. Fortunately I found somewhere else and actually better.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tot_of_rum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We booked the bus from Christchurh to Akaroa, just for a stay of 2 nights, the bus drop us right in front of the hostel, we were able to check in early, our 5-bed room attached with bath room, which is great and hardly found in other hostel. Room is big enough and the bed is pretty comfortable. Only cons is the garden hangout area is just right in front of our room, pretty noisy and disturbing in the day and night time. Overall it is one of the good choice for Akaroa,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngsiewcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We must have arrived on a bad day compared with other reviewers. Young girl in reception did not give us much info, just showed us to what we think was called The Cottage, at the rear of the premises at the edge of the garden. Room was spacious with small ensuite shower and small kitchen. Unfortunately only one ring of the two ring stove worked but we could also use the main kitchen. Our water heater was also shared by the outside shower/toilet and did not appear to work in the morning so had a bracing experience. Felt our facilities could do with a clean with the whole area needing a bit of a tidy up. No member of staff to speak to when we left (9.30am). Previous reviewer has accurately listed facilities, layout and available items. Not as good as some of the other hostels/backpackers that we stayed in. The long drive from Christchurch was worth it. Akaroa is a lovely area with beautiful lake views and a nice harbourside.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.5 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#8 of 24 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Accord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Accord

Property: Bon Accord
Address: 57 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home from home, quality budget accommodation. Doubles, twins, triple and dorm style rooms. All linen and towels supplied. Situated in the centre of Akaroa, streamside setting. One night is never enough in this beautiful seaside town. Resident dog and cat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bon Accord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing