We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tresori Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The motel is a bit overpriced in my
Opinion, given that Internet is not included and that it was further from the bay than its competitors.

But that's also a good thing. It's quiet, and the rooms are very clean. At first, service was good! We arrived there late-ish on a weekday evening and right away reception pointed us in the direction of cafes.

However, upon checkout, I discovered that I was double charged. Once for our stay and once for another couple's stay. It wouldn't have bothered me so much if
Peter, the guy at reception, hadn't been so rude and insistent that I was wrong. I pulled up my Internet banking to show him that I had been double charged, and even then he refused to relent even though Tresori Akaroa was next to both charges! I didn't want to be argumentative, but if I hadn't been, he wouldn't have realized his error.

In the end, I got a half assed apology that, unfortunately, soured the experience for me. It really didn't have to be that dramatic. I'll probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladygodiva83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

The rooms open onto the carpark with sliding doors, therefore neither very private not quiet. The staff were not as friendly or helpful as we've come to expect in New Zealand. However, the location was convenient to the waterfront and to the rest of the town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Tresori Motor Lodge in August 2012 and were pleased with the stay.

The Hotel looks out over the street and most of the rooms facing in the carpark, so if your wanting the harbour view, you won' receive it here.

Our room (as with most others) had a sliding door for entrance, which opened out into the car park, so generally had the blinds pulled back so people couldn't peek in.

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, the Compendium full of information, (yet some of the menus out dated) and the Kitchenette stocked with enough cooking facilities for our stay (we wanted a full kitchen as it was advertised but apparently all rooms have kitchenettes)

The bathroom was spacious, clean, and the rooms made up and tidy for us on both nights.

Probably my only gripe is the TV's are a little "historic" and need to be upgraded into flat screens, and larger, we found that we had to pull it closer to the couches to get a view (and also to change the channel!)

Host was lovely, and very friendly!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, that way your room is not going to be in the viewing position of everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for one night on a visit to Akaroa for my wife's birthday. Very comfortable and clean and tidy unit. Would have given the motel a excellent but the TV's are very dated and small for the size of the rooms. Would expect at least 32" LCD on the wall for the price. Otherwise very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed overnight, the final night of a 3 week holiday in New Zealand, and were not disappointed. An early checkin from a cheerful and welcoming host allowed us a full afternoon to enjoy the scenery, browse through the shops and wander along the seafront. Tresori Motor Lodge is a 2 minute walk to the jetty and shops, very convenient. Our unit had kitchen facilities, was spacious, clean and even had a second (small) TV in the bedroom. We'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed three nights atTresori Motor Lodge, Very comfortable, Good beds, We had a two bedroom unit. It had everything that you need. The unit was very dark and didn't get much sun even though the days were beauitful. The units are very clean. Great location as two minute stroll from the waterfront, shops, hotels and cafes. If you don't care about having a view them this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Good place to stay in this little community. The motel style small living room/kitchenette and bedroom suites are adequate and very conveniently located. Landscaping is very good with a lot of contained plants!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myriamc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.1 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.6 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#10 of 25 in Akaroa
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bruce Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tresori Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresori Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Rue Jolie & Church St, Akaroa, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range: £68 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tresori Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Luxury Motel in the centre of Akaroa just 50 metres from Waterfront, Shops and Restaurants. Large Studios with King size beds and spas. Spacious family apartments also available. Seasonal Rates and Specials available, minimum stay may apply on certain dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tresori Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresori Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing