We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tresori Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Narbonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Everything was spot on”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This motel was in a good location, was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was special with a corner bath for two, unfortunately we didn't have time for this but the shower was good. The accommodation had everything we needed. Even though there was no a/c there was a fan and it was very hot the 1st evening of our stay and this was adequate. We would recommend Tresori Motor Lodge if you stay in the lovely resort of Akoroa.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodilly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    43
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The motel claims to offer "luxury accommodation", whereby the term "luxury" is relative. For me, "luxury" has to include A/C, even if you don´t need it, and the furniture and decor must be in pristine condition, which it isn´t (any more) at the TRESORI. We stayed here for three nights; one in unit 8, a one-bedroom unit, and two in unit 9, a studio. Although unit 9 is smaller and slightly less expensive, we actually preferred it, as it was possible to watch the flat-screen TV from the bed. The TV in the bedroom of unit 8 is still the older type. The carpet in unit 9 was also less soiled. I don´t mean that the motel is dirty - definitely not, but there are signs of normal wear and tear. The motel still offers a very good standard. It´s true that the price is relatively high, but the supply of good accommodation in AKAROA is limited, so the prices are in accordance with supply and demand. Other reviewers have complained about the lack of privacy on the ground floor, so ask for a room on the upper level. The motel is very near to restaurants and cafés. There is minor noise pollution from the road, the school and swimming pool over the road. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The upper level is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

For the $185.00 per night we paid when quoted $180.00 we expected a bit more.

Firstly the things it didn't have 1. Aircon or an adequate fan which is essential when hot 2. An iron and ironing board which is essential when you want to touch up your clothes to attend a wedding (did have a single iron which we had to share with everyone else at he complex) 3. Complimentary wifi 4. Proper room service (Do not clean dishes, change towels or replenish tean and coffee) 5. No views 6. Clearly identified car spaces (One idiot took up multiple car parks leaving many guests struggling to park onsite.

What it does have is 1. It is easy to find 2. Close to shops, food places and main wharf.

Probably would not stay again largely due to the items listed above and the fact the owners appeared to be heavy smokers and every tiem we opened a window or door the smell wafted in.

Room Tip: Upstairs to avoid noises from units above coming through the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Featherston, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Good points: cleanliness, close to waterfront and shops, parking, updated decor. But Akaroa's so brilliant that the accommodation is just one aspect of an otherwise fabulous place to visit.
Bad points: price - not good value for what we got, bed (hard, two singles pushed together, not a king - very uncomfortable), few TV channels, disinterested staff who smelled like cigarette smoke, housekeeping not great (only made bed and folded toilet paper into a triangle (!), didn't seem to do anything else). Noisy fridge and school over the road, but otherwise quiet. Big sliding doors opened onto car park - not very private. Had curtains closed most of the time - ghastly on a hot day but better than everyone looking in. Described as "luxury" - don't think so!

Room Tip: Get one upstairs for privacy unless you have mobility issues. Ask about the bed if it matters to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelise131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The motel is a bit overpriced in my
Opinion, given that Internet is not included and that it was further from the bay than its competitors.

But that's also a good thing. It's quiet, and the rooms are very clean. At first, service was good! We arrived there late-ish on a weekday evening and right away reception pointed us in the direction of cafes.

However, upon checkout, I discovered that I was double charged. Once for our stay and once for another couple's stay. It wouldn't have bothered me so much if
Peter, the guy at reception, hadn't been so rude and insistent that I was wrong. I pulled up my Internet banking to show him that I had been double charged, and even then he refused to relent even though Tresori Akaroa was next to both charges! I didn't want to be argumentative, but if I hadn't been, he wouldn't have realized his error.

In the end, I got a half assed apology that, unfortunately, soured the experience for me. It really didn't have to be that dramatic. I'll probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladygodiva83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F'burg
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The rooms open onto the carpark with sliding doors, therefore neither very private not quiet. The staff were not as friendly or helpful as we've come to expect in New Zealand. However, the location was convenient to the waterfront and to the rest of the town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Tresori Motor Lodge in August 2012 and were pleased with the stay.

The Hotel looks out over the street and most of the rooms facing in the carpark, so if your wanting the harbour view, you won' receive it here.

Our room (as with most others) had a sliding door for entrance, which opened out into the car park, so generally had the blinds pulled back so people couldn't peek in.

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, the Compendium full of information, (yet some of the menus out dated) and the Kitchenette stocked with enough cooking facilities for our stay (we wanted a full kitchen as it was advertised but apparently all rooms have kitchenettes)

The bathroom was spacious, clean, and the rooms made up and tidy for us on both nights.

Probably my only gripe is the TV's are a little "historic" and need to be upgraded into flat screens, and larger, we found that we had to pull it closer to the couches to get a view (and also to change the channel!)

Host was lovely, and very friendly!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, that way your room is not going to be in the viewing position of everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.7 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.3 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tresori Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresori Motor Lodge

Property: Tresori Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Rue Jolie & Church St, Akaroa, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tresori Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Luxury Motel in the centre of Akaroa just 50 metres from Waterfront, Shops and Restaurants. Large Studios with King size beds and spas. Spacious family apartments also available. Seasonal Rates and Specials available, minimum stay may apply on certain dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Tresori Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresori Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing