We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well equipped in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Rochelle Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well equipped in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

It is such a pleasure to go into a room and know it is clean, well equipped and that someone actually cares about it. Jeremy and Richelle are a lovely, hard-working young couple who have made the rooms at this motel special by their attention to detail. Plenty of parking and a short walk to excellent restaurants and the waterfront. Akaroa is a charming and delightful little town and well-worth the visit. And La Rochelle is certainly a great place to stay while you do!

Room Tip: If you especially want a room on the first floor, then ask for it when you book. Don't simply t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    72
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
149
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our tour of NZed.The motel is located at the edge of town, but everything is within walking distance. The room was very nice, we had a downstairs room with a small patio.It was next to a stream.Very pretty, but we were there in the rains and couldn't sit on the porch due to bugs.The parking lot is small, but accomodates all 9 cars.Akaroa is a great town, but check to see the cruiseboats schedule.We were there one day without them and what a wonderful difference. The passengers take up the whole town and ruin the small,quaint atmosphere.We had booked our room many months,and when we got there they LOWERED our rate.Couldn't believe it.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

It's right on the leading edge of town away from the more touristy spots right by the harbor. Charming balcony terrace overlooking tropical garden and stream, with magnificent mountains for the backdrop. The room was spotless and manager could not have been more warm and helpful. Strolling to the center of this picturesque village and back after a wonderful dinner was magical.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks for your comments on our property and lovely town of Akaroa. We try our best
to match great accomodation and service with our unique town of such beauty. We love the
patios and balconies too as they are a lovely surprise for many of our guests. On a fine day they are the perfect place to relax with a glass of vino.
See you again soon.
Jeremy & Richelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We had a downstairs room which had a lovely outlook onto the trees and stream - whilst the view was pleasing it did make the room quite dark. The room and amenities were basic but comfortable. Only place to sit and watch TV was on the bed and there wasn't really anywhere to place your hot drinks or meals. The bathroom was basic but nice to have a spa bath. The bathroom did need a bit of cosmetic attention and desperately needed a fan - steamed up very quickly and hard to clear even with doors and window open. Despite the bedroom not being serviced one day the room was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbpkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roosendaal, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Very nice motel with specious rooms and state of the art (iPhone/iPad docking station). Good kingsize bed. Rooms are daily serviced by friendly staff. A lot of quality for money. Free wifi acces. We spend five days without any complaints.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom unit on the top level with our two pre schoolers, my parents stayed in a studio on the same level. Whilst both units were not huge, there was enough room for us all to enjoy our stay. Parking within view of the door of the unit.

Clean and quiet, the only negative was the fire alarm which went off giving the kids quite a fright - someone late night cooking without opening their unit's windows.

Free DVDs a bonus, kind of the owners to let us use the hose to wash the Cook Strait salt from our car!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We booked Unit 7 with a Super King Bed over a month prior to our visit.The Proprietor confirmed the specific reservation by email.We specifically chose the upper floor room with a balcony as the lower rooms are somewhat dark and uninviting due to their close proximity to the property boundary and shrubbery.We checked in at 2pm on Saturday 10 December and the Proprietor directed us to Room 4, a dark and uninspiring room on the ground floor, and advised that she had relet our room earlier in the week and it was now occupied! She had no words of apology and simply said "take it or leave it as I can resell it".We were unable to find alternative accommodation as Akaroa was fully booked.This motel is poorly managed and should be avoided as the Proprietor has a 'couldn't give a damn attitude'.

Room Tip: Would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigersChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Once again we would like to offer our apologies for not being able to provide the Studio booked however in this case a ground floor studio was made available to which you declined, without even having stepped inside the room. We dispute our ground floor units being dark & uninviting as our porches set in the native garden are very peaceful & tranquil, as most of our guests who STAY at La Rochelle have experienced & will attest on this website.
We take pride in our complex & our service & enjoy the return of many of our guests who
enjoy both La Rochelle & beautiful Akaroa. We invite you to actually experience our hospitality
& units so that you might write an informed & truthful review on our property & service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.2 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Property: La Rochelle Motel
Address: 1 Rue Grehan, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle Motel is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit also has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, free Wireless Broadband, continental breakfast & Guest Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing