We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful night in Akaroa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Rochelle Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful night in Akaroa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I with our 2 children recently spent a night in Akaroa to get away from yet another round of Christchurch earthquakes. At short notice, La Rochelle came up 'trumps' with a 2 bedroom unit that was ideal for us. The staff gave us a contact for childcare for the evening so we could enjoy a dinner out (Little Bistro...fantastic!). Upon checkout, we got chatting with the owners about all the stress of living through earthquakes and they gave kindly offered us a discount which was not necessary but very thoughtful. Now that life is getting back to normal for us, we'll definitely return to Akaroa, certainly stay at La Rochelle and happily pay the going rate!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RodRodCHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks RodRod for your review on our property. It was a pleasure to host you and your family and we are pleased we could offer some much needed respite from the ongoing shakes of CHCH. We look forward to your return at La Rochelle soon.
Kind Regards
Jeremy & Richelle Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    68
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
143
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merbein
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The motel is just as you come into Akaroa, it is small and friendly. It is only a short walk to all the facilities of the town, and we walked most places once we arrived and only used the car to go further afield. The couple who run the motel are friendly and easy to get along with, and most helpful. We spent two nights here, and would recommend it to others. It was good value for money, and having the kitchenette was very useful for providing your own breakfast, and other meals. The rooms are very comfortable and well thought out, the bathroom was slightly small but has all you need including heated towel rails and heaters. We also had our 10 year old daughter with us, and they made a comfortable bed up for her as well. The room we were in had a small garden area with a table and chairs set, where you can hear the stream running past. Akaroa itself is a beautiful quiet little spot to spend a couple of days winding down with a great range of places to eat, and lots of beautiful scenery to enjoy. Overall we enjoyed our stay here, and I'm sure you will too if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Jeremy & I work hard as a young couple to make each guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as we possibly can. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Richelle & Jeremy Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

It is such a pleasure to go into a room and know it is clean, well equipped and that someone actually cares about it. Jeremy and Richelle are a lovely, hard-working young couple who have made the rooms at this motel special by their attention to detail. Plenty of parking and a short walk to excellent restaurants and the waterfront. Akaroa is a charming and delightful little town and well-worth the visit. And La Rochelle is certainly a great place to stay while you do!

Room Tip: If you especially want a room on the first floor, then ask for it when you book. Don't simply t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our tour of NZed.The motel is located at the edge of town, but everything is within walking distance. The room was very nice, we had a downstairs room with a small patio.It was next to a stream.Very pretty, but we were there in the rains and couldn't sit on the porch due to bugs.The parking lot is small, but accomodates all 9 cars.Akaroa is a great town, but check to see the cruiseboats schedule.We were there one day without them and what a wonderful difference. The passengers take up the whole town and ruin the small,quaint atmosphere.We had booked our room many months,and when we got there they LOWERED our rate.Couldn't believe it.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

It's right on the leading edge of town away from the more touristy spots right by the harbor. Charming balcony terrace overlooking tropical garden and stream, with magnificent mountains for the backdrop. The room was spotless and manager could not have been more warm and helpful. Strolling to the center of this picturesque village and back after a wonderful dinner was magical.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thanks for your comments on our property and lovely town of Akaroa. We try our best
to match great accomodation and service with our unique town of such beauty. We love the
patios and balconies too as they are a lovely surprise for many of our guests. On a fine day they are the perfect place to relax with a glass of vino.
See you again soon.
Jeremy & Richelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We had a downstairs room which had a lovely outlook onto the trees and stream - whilst the view was pleasing it did make the room quite dark. The room and amenities were basic but comfortable. Only place to sit and watch TV was on the bed and there wasn't really anywhere to place your hot drinks or meals. The bathroom was basic but nice to have a spa bath. The bathroom did need a bit of cosmetic attention and desperately needed a fan - steamed up very quickly and hard to clear even with doors and window open. Despite the bedroom not being serviced one day the room was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbpkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roosendaal, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Very nice motel with specious rooms and state of the art (iPhone/iPad docking station). Good kingsize bed. Rooms are daily serviced by friendly staff. A lot of quality for money. Free wifi acces. We spend five days without any complaints.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Property: La Rochelle Motel
Address: 1 Rue Grehan, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle Motel is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit also has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, free Wireless Broadband, continental breakfast & Guest Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing