We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque setting in Akaroa”
Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Rochelle Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Our room was nearest the road, but with windows closed noise wasn't an issue and the traffic is minimal at night anyway. A view to creek and green vegetation with table and chairs on the patio was very relaxing. Plenty of plates and pans for simple cooking and good laundry facility when you have been tramping. Thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being close to the road, its not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoMet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

Really enjoyed our two nights in Akaroa and the La Rochelle Motel was a great place to stay.
Our room was on the ground floor and closest to the road but traffic noise wasn't a problem for us.
There is a lovely private shady area outside the room where you can sit by the stream and listen to the tuis.
The room was modern and impeccably clean with good cooking facilities and a large shower room.
The owners were very friendly and helpful with local knowledge of where to eat out.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wadestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed at La Rochelle the eve before my wedding, Staff were very friendly and helpful. The apartment was immaculately presented and amazingly clean. Awoke early due to my big day but was so relaxed sitting on the balcony listening to the stream and birds happily singing away. So big thanks go to the proprietors for making their motel so inviting. :)

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank terri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had an awesome time in the stunningly beautiful Akaroa township, La Rochelle we highly recommend, lovely clean apartments, wonderful power shower, magic little touches, towels and flannels presented imaginatively, great setting, lovely to be so near to the magical bird song in the morning, good parking, 1st class stay, Many thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

La Rochelle was a lovely place to stay . the room was very nice , the bed wasn,t so good the mattress sagged in the middle so i slept in another bed , lucky there was another one . The motel was situated at the end of town and was a nice stroll to the main street . The owners were really nice and helpful . I would love to go back there again . There,s a pub across the road , went there for dinner , good meal . Was a lovely town , a lot of history with beautiful old buildings and very picturesque . Lots of little shops and places to eat along the water .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lidia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this motel.the staff were friendly and helpful.The roo m was lovely, very spacious, modern, well fitted out ,as was also the bathroom.Plenty of parking and easily walkable in to the town.The lovely quiet balcony was a delight to sit on, wathing the ducks by the stream below and listening to the birdsongs in the morning.I would definitely recommend this.

Room Tip: upstairs units i think are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangaroo017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This motel was very easy to find as we arrived from Christchurch. It was modern with good sized rooms and well fitted bathrooms. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The stay was very quiet and road noise not an issue. Smoke alarms very sensitive though, as one was set off by an incomsiderate smoker which woke us all up at some ungodly hour. Situation quickly fixed.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms good as no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback although worthy of a mention is that we must let everyone know that all of our units are ABSOLUTELY smoke free so there is no way this particular guest activated the fire alarm by smoking inside, he was cooking in the kitchen and popped outside on his balcony to have a cigarette, the cooking left alone triggered the alarm. We are glad we could attend to it immediately and minimize guest discomfort. We look forward to your return one day to La Rochelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.1 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Akaroa
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#10 of 25 in Akaroa
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Address: 1 Rue Grehan, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range: £59 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle Motel is a small family operated property that is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either Super-King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit also has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, free Wireless Broadband, continental breakfast & Guest Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing