We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Rochelle Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a great place to stay, well away from the noise and bustle of 'downtown' Akaroa. The room was well kept and clean, and had all of the facilities we needed. The owners are very friendly and helpul.

The only real downside for us was that we had some issues with being bitten by sandflies that came in the room as soon as you open the windows, but some insect spay was provided to get rid of them.

As someone who has traveled extensively around NZ on business and stayed in a variety of hotels, one thing that can be annoying is having 'eco-friendly policies' forced on you. Whilst I can appreciate that these policies are necessary, sometimes you go away just to relax and not worry about the heating being turned up, and having warm towels available when you need them. There's definitely nothing more annoying than having to turn on all of the power switches that have been turned off, just to 'save power'. If I choose to do these things at home, that;s fine, if I am paying to stay somewhere, what I have the heating on etc., is my choice, and I don't expect it to be controlled.

This is not intended as a direct criticism of La Rochelle, they did a great job. It's really just that it would be nice to make our own choices about these things and not have them controlled by hotel owners. After all, we are paying 'guests......................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    72
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
149
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

lovely bed so comfortable, just move the chair stuck next to it making it a challenge to get out in the night, not a quiet unit, the noise in the night loud and kept us awake, was not asked on leaving if we enjoyed our stay otherwise would have told the owners direct.

Room Tip: Did not know it had a pool or restaurant so this question is na, as for the rooms do not get room tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Wendy B,
Thanks for taking the time to review your property. We are very puzzled by your comments about a noise issue, no we don't have a pool or restaurant so we are not sure what "generator" type noise you are referring to? We have not had this bought to our attention before so would like to get to the bottom of it. We do wish you had shared this with us during your stay. My husband & I pride ourselves on our good honest service so feel disappointed you did not experience this. Unfortunately we are unable to move the chair as you may have observed in the unit due to its layout and design but we certainly value all our reviews and use them to improve our business. We are pleased you enjoyed the bed as we recently replaced all beds in our complex.
Kind Regards
Richelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed Easter weekend and power was out in the area but that didn't stop the owners from taking great care of us , as all of the restaurants were out of action the La Rochelle team got straight to work providing us with hot cooked lunches and cups of tea and coffee , from there own pantry.Amazing hosts and we will definitely be back to stay thanks team.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our disappointment started with problems checking in. No one was on site and there was a sign on the door saying check in after 2pm. When I returned as directed, there was still no one there so I called the 0800 number. When my message was eventually returned, the hotelier was abrupt and rudely said they did not have our booking. After a further delay they called again and told us they'd over booked and had organised a better room than the one we'd booked elsewhere. It was nearly 5pm when we finally accessed a hotel room, having a function on the opposite side of town at 6pm. We were disappointed again when we found that the hotelier had misled us, and the room was not an equivalent in any way. Why people like this choose to work in hospitality when they clearly lack the enthusiasm required I do not know. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 244TracyH244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you 244TracyH244 for taking the time to review our property. We most certainly do offer our humble apologies for your experience with us on Sunday 1st June. However we must also be given an opportunity to perhaps put a few issues into perspective. Our office was unattended on Sunday for a 2 hour period for personal reasons as all guests check in arrangements were seen too, once I received your phone message I immediately contacted you and explained that we were not holding a booking for you. I was most certainly not rude or abrupt as you claim. My husband & I operate a friendly and professional motel as most other reviewers express. Upon speaking with you I immediately returned to the office and found upon logging into the 3rd party website you booked through that yes there was a booking. It would appear this booking was made on 12th May 2014 , at this time our office was attended by a relief motel manager who had not processed the booking unfortunately as it had gone to a Junk folder. We have since reviewed this procedure to ensure this type of error does not occur again. Following procedure I contacted another reputable accommodation provider and booked you into alternative accommodation. This was in fact a larger unit ( 2 bedroom courtyard Jacques apartment) to the King Studio you had booked with us and I did not lie about this. Contacting you immediately and sharing this information all seemed acceptable to your partner.
Once again we offer our apologies and ask that perhaps you contact us direct on 0800452762 if you have any further grievances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We change plan for last day in south island to stay at Akaroa. It's a lovely city. It has a great view. You can see a harbor from the hill. The La Rochelle Motel is a good hotel. A staff is friendly and helpful. The room has a lot of space, clean and comfortable.

I love it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eakkapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We only had one night in this small complex, but we loved it. Right at the beginning of Akaroa itself, it's close to everything - quite a few cafes and restaurants (and more only 10mins walk up the road), a general store, the historic French cemetary, hotels & bars, the lake itself. We had Room 2 on the ground floor, quite plush and well decorated, with a running stream and garden outside our room - we could sit outside and drink our local wines whilst enjoying nature. There was a cruise ship in port, so the town was really buzzing - but still room at the cafes and restaurants, especially after 6pm when the ship left port. Fascinating town, loved it. Well done La Rochelle staff!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GlynnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you GlynnF for your very kind comments and review of our property. Akaroa ( & Banks Peninsula) is a special place to visit and we are pleased to share it with you. See you next time.
Kind Regards
Richelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed one night in one of the standard rooms on the ground floor. The location is perfect for visiting Akaroa, as you are right at the town entrance from where you can reach everything on foot and also enjoy a very quiet setting. The room was very comfortable, spacious and spotless clean. The porch overlooking the backyard is very nice to relax after a day of sightseeing. The only minor negative in our eyes was the very narrow parking lot, but this was too big an issue. We would also like to add that the lady at the front desk was very nice and knowleadgeable. She gave us tips about which restaurants to visit and we were very happy with her suggestions. Summing up, La Rochelle was a very nice experience and we would suggest the property to anybody visiting Akaroa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.2 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Property: La Rochelle Motel
Address: 1 Rue Grehan, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle Motel is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit also has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, free Wireless Broadband, continental breakfast & Guest Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing