We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Stay”
Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Rochelle Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Top room, comfy couch. Good night out on the town and easy walk back, good DVD player in room. Friendly owners. Entertainment provided by local football team playing across the road on the Saturday, look out for the 'leaping salmon' centre forward.

Room Tip: Two bedroom unit good for a family getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our hosts were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and warm. It's five minutes walk to the sea and there are some excellent restaurants close by. We'd definitely recommend the motel, and Akaroa is a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Above average room at the motel just as you come into Akaroa. It is walking distance to some shops and the grocery store but a long walk to most of the restaurants near the pier. We found the office staff to be very friendly and helpful and apologetic when we tried to check in at 2pm and no one was at the front desk. Good wifi and laundry facilities and loved the stream that was outside our patio. We would stay there again with no hesitancy and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calinzeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was a great find. Very comfortable, clean and well kitted out motel room. Very good value for money. The motel is a ten minute walk from the centre of the village and was a great find. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichelleinWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms. There's a stream that runs alongside it which makes it quite peaceful even though there's a little noise from the road. There are DVDs for loan for entertainment, and the wifi is blazing fast!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnapMePhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Two couples stayed for 2 nights. Nice warm welcome by owner . Rooms were smallish but well appointed. Location to top end of Akaroa was good. Reasonably priced compared to other places I've stayed in Akaroa. Our room had non working hair dyer and a noisy refrigerator , other than that is was all good. Our travelling companions room wasn't as clean as expected with hair obvious on floor behind the bathroom door.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hondarider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Hondarider,
Thanks for your review! Upon check out & your sharing with Jeremy we checked the hairdryer and your wife just failed to push the button at the bottom of the hand piece so it is all good working order. The fridge in Unit 2 was purchased last summer, we are sorry you found it noisy. Many folk do not usually sleep in the same room as their fridge (i.e a Studio unit) so they can be distracting little appliances. We are absolutely mortified you found hair in the bathroom, it is my worst nightmare and we pride ourselves on our cleanliness so we have reviewed our cleaning procedures to ensure this does not occur again.
We look forward to welcoming you to La Rochelle again when your lovely wife lets you ride to the South Island again soon.
Take care
Richelle & Jeremy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Totally enjoyed our stay, the unit was spacious and tastefully decorated. Plenty of extra bedding for those cold nights if needed. We ordered breakfast (continental) and thought it was good value. Will be staying there again on our next visit

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.1 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Akaroa
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Address: 1 Rue Grehan, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range: £72 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle Motel is a small family operated property that is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit also has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, free Wireless Broadband, continental breakfast & Guest Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing