We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views.of the harbour and great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful views.of the harbour and great accommodation”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My Mother, two sisters and I stayed 2 nights in a lovely apartment at Driftwood Akaroa Waterfront Motel in Akaroa, New Zealand. The Motel is very centrally located so is only a short walk to most places.

We arrived very late at night, having organised with the owner to leave a key for us. Our apartment (No. 2) was upstairs and right at the waterfront end of the motel and so we had beautiful views of the water, including a cruise ship. Waking up to such gorgeous sights was definitely one of the best parts of our trip!

The apartment itself was lovely - 3 spacious bedrooms (can easily sleep 6), a modern bathroom, spacious and modern kitchen and a lounge and dining area. There was also a verandah which my mother (89 years old) liked to sit out on. The gardens were lush and tropical and the waterfront views just gorgeous. There's even a little beach.

The Motel also has a laundry which is open till 9pm which was very handy for travellers needing clean clothes! We we had a full day of sightseeing and still had enough time to wash and dry our clothes.

Although this was our second visit to Akaroa, there was still so much to see and do. The Manager, Chris, helped with recommendations about where to eat in town, and local attractions to visit such as an Artist's property - amazing art work and incredible gardens. He also provided info about a lovely drive to Little Akaloa, which we did and which was the highlight of our visit - I highly recommend this drive but be very careful as the road is a bit precarious. The scenery is worth it, though.

I would definitely stay at Driftwood again, and in fact we have plans to return to Akaroa hopefully in Feb/Mar next year. Can't wait.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the end facing the water, all the better. However, most of the complex loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    71
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
54
132
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

It was great to see the sun rising on the hills on the other side of the harbour in the morning. The room was constructed in blockwork and had clearly been partially refurbished. The shower seemed very old and performed poorly on the first morning; it only managed a dribble. That and other things (lights not working) were reported and promptly attended to: good stuff. The garden furniture was new and comfortable. The TV was small but we were not there to watch TV so it wasn't an issue for us. Staff were helpful and ready to point out restaurants on a map etc. For what it was, $175 per night was a little on the high side but was probably worth it for where it was and the fact that it was French Fest weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here for a quiet night away, and since it was at the time of the snowstorm, we had a Very quite night away.
We were given a lovely one bedroom unit on the Driftwood side of the motel, and the owners had been kind enough to put the heater on for us,
It was everything we wanted, with a lovely view over the water,
Would certainly stay here again, but am very aware it would be a different atmosphere in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathiiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We cose this motel because it was on the lake. we had a downstairs room just back from the water. Room was very clean and neat with 2 bedrooms, nice sized bathroom and cooking facilities.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the laundry was easy to use with modern machines.

We stayed 2 nights and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The beds were comfy and rooms light and bright. Laundry was expensive at four dollars each for washing machine or dryer. Loved the pure waterfront and outside seating. However, we were in downstairs unit and picked up noise from other units. Also screaming and crying misbehaving kids at 5am in the morning from unit nearby was not welcome, but that is not the motel fault. Manager did advise he didn't usually put young kids in waterfront units. I think that should remain as we paid extra the unit and expect a good sleep. Otherwise would definitely go back but ask for unit not next to kids.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We arrived in Akaroa on a Saturday lunchtime and immediately went to the 'i-site' where the helpful assistant told us we would be very lucky to find any accomodation as most motels had a two night minimum. However, we went for a wander and ended up here. The owner was helpful and showed us a studio apartment that was available. We paid $215 for this which was the most expensive we paid on our whole trip. The apartment had a separate room with two single beds and then a studio area with a double bed, seating and kitchenette. The view from the little balcony was stunning as it looked out across the water. It was a nice bright unit which seemed modern and airy. We were happy with our night here, although there was some noise during the night from nearby residents. All in all it was a pleasant stay. Akaroa is a great place, but very busy at the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2011

The stay here was alright however the owners really were not welcoming and the place had a very bad vibe going around it. Also they charge a hefty amount and then make you pay for every single extra for example renting dvds to using the spa pool.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Waterfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Property: Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Address: 56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa Waterfront Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful, historic French village of Akaroa, just 1.5H from Christchurch. With 24 refurbished units to choose from featuring studio,1, 2 and 3-bedroom units, you can enjoy affordable comfort with the waterfront right at your doorstep. With most units offering views of the water, spacious living and well-equipped kitchens you have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. We are only a minutes stroll to the art and craft shops, restaurants, cafes and other attractions Akaroa has to offer. You could also relax in our private hot tropical spa pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Akaroa Waterfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Waterfront Hotel Akaroa
Driftwood Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing