We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in a one bedroom unit overlooking the waterfront. (Lovely views). The unit appeared to have been recently refurbished and was light and airy. Furnishings were modern and clean. It was in a good location and only a short walk to the supermarket. Only slight negatives ...the television was very small and the showerhead and mixer need updating. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwianatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    66
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
119
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Finished our tour of South Island with a couple of nights here. Paid more than we have been, but it was worth it as final treat. Lovely newly refurbed 'apartment' - separate bedroom and bed in lounge, nice kitchen area, dining table and chairs and sofa, and balcony looking over the water. All finished to very high standard. Akaroa is nice harbour and (stony) beach, very much weekender place from Christchurch. Brace yourself for drive with sharp bends and hills to get there but gives you nice views. Restaurants pricier than elsewhere but The Brasserie was good value, with seats in garden out front or inside. Supermarket, so you can cook in and eat out on that balcony if you want. 1.5 hours to airport.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view - you can lie in bed and look at the water and hills opposite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EalingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkerød, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed for three nights in a unit facing the water. Views are really nice with water, hills and the changing tide. It does however come with a price. Rooms appeared to have been redecorated but through it you can still see that it is an "old" motel. Throughout our trip on the South Island we never met that many rules and regulations (and you are reminded about them several times in the material in the unit). In addition, service is really kept to a minimum. Given the price I think we could have done better, although not with the same view. If I ever get back to Akaroa I will find another place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JesperL651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very comfortable and great views of the harbour. We had a one bedroom studio so plenty of room. The location is excellent with a very short walk to the top restaurants in Akaroa. A few rules and regulations listed on the walls on what you can and cannot do in the room, eg no cooking fish or curries, however I guess some people need to be reminded of the next guests to use the room!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 53Jude209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This motel has an awesome view and beach frontage (harbour view rooms only). The unit was clean...mostly...the toilet could have a little more attention spent on it. The bathroom (and the rest of the unit) appeared to have been redecorated but would have benefitted from a new shower head and mixer, quite difficult to use and poor flow. We had a ground floor unit which had great flow out to the waters edge and a couple of outdoor seats to enjoy the view but we could hear the people upstairs using their toilet and walking round their unit. The bed was due for a new mattress (roll together) There was tea and coffee making facilities but no milk. Wifi was available with free 20meg for the first 24 hours, very handy location for resteraunts and bars and the local supermarket. I would probably try one of the other motels in Akaroa next visit

Room Tip: Book a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights and got a nice room facing the water. The room was in good shape, modern and clean. Cooking facilities. Coffee, tea and cookies supplied. Possible to get a barbeque and place right outside the room on the waterside. Sunshine afternoon & evening. The only negative was that the hot water in the shower was difficult to control.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right hand side of the river enjoy direct water front access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed 2 days at the end of our NZ adventure. Had a room directly on the water. Breathtaking harbor views. Host was friendly, helpful, and eager to chat about the area. Rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. Laundry onsite. Short walk along the waterfront to dining, sightseeing and shopping. Dining options can be limited in the off season.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room--hosts are willing to accommodate if they can. Book early, as options in A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearFam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Waterfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Property: Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Address: 56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa Waterfront Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful, historic French village of Akaroa, just 1.5H from Christchurch. With 24 refurbished units to choose from featuring studio,1, 2 and 3-bedroom units, you can enjoy affordable comfort with the waterfront right at your doorstep. With most units offering views of the water, spacious living and well-equipped kitchens you have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. We are only a minutes stroll to the art and craft shops, restaurants, cafes and other attractions Akaroa has to offer. You could also relax in our private hot tropical spa pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Akaroa Waterfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Waterfront Hotel Akaroa
Driftwood Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing