We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in good location”
Review of L'Hotel Akaroa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hotel Akaroa
Ranked #8 of 25 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We went as a family and had a selection of starters and mains. Calamari to start - perfectly cooked. I had the NZ green lipped mussels which were huge and excellent. Other mains we had were BBQ ribs, fish and chips and unusual and delicious pizzas. Beautifully chilled Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, plus children's meals which they loved. Colouring pages and crayons kept the young boys happy and good service made for a lovely first lunch all together as family from opposite ends of the earth. Would definitely go again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank SueWithaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

In comparison to everywhere else we stayed during our time in New Zealand, this was the most overpriced for the poorest quality. In fact, I wore my flip flops at all times in the room and in the shower.

The rooms are based above the bar below, which does of course mean it gets rather noisy in the evening, and depending on your luck with the clientele below you may not get the best nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank thistravelingdesignr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stopped for lunch here before getting back on our ship. The fish was great. I wish I could remember what kind. We had New Zealand beer, brewed right up the road. With a ship being there, it was busy, but the one waitress did her best. We didn't mind at all. After all, we were in New Zealand for the experience. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LovinMaui_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had an amazing dinner at L'Hotel on 3rd Januay, had only been here once before but def glad we went back. The young lady who looked after us was just amazing and looked like she was the only one really working I have to say and pregnant as well. She gave excellent service and kept everything ticking as it was rather busy

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Ordered 2 wines at the bar after waiting 5 minutes to be served. Bar tenders were more concerned about getting themselves drinks than mine. After I eventually paid, the drinks were left on the wrong side of the bar, which I couldn't reach. I had to flag the bar tender down again to pass them to me, which took another few minutes. Very poor service.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I am a frequent visitor but what a great finish and start of the years. Lovely food while sitting in the sun listening to 2 duo groups while dining. The sun sets and a local group of young Akaroa musicians starts up then at 11 the main band plays. Heaps of people, great staff and a good time was had by all.

Don't wait for next years eve as the atmosphere, food and staff are awesome all year round. Over the summer they often have live music and the Sunday happy hour is a good way to chill out late in the avo.

Right in the centre with unobstructed views of the Harbour.

Room Tip: Noisy if there is a band on but good if you are staying up to listen to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

L'hotel is right on the waterfront with balconies overlooking the sea. the room was clean and bright. We were a bit concerned that there might be noise form the beer garden just under our balcony but it was very quiet with the bar shutting at about 9. So a great location in a lovely beachside setting

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
129 reviews
1.8 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.4 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 25 in Akaroa
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
French Bay House
French Bay House
#10 of 25 in Akaroa
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Akaroa

Address: 75 Beach Road | Akaroa, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: £92 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Akaroa, making it the ideal place to stay while you spend your days relaxing and enjoying all the unique experiences that the Banks Peninsula region has to offer. Akaroa is world famous for its breath taking scenery, and hector dolphins, with a whole raft of exhilarating activities to choose from during your stay at L'Hotel in Akaroa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Hotel Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing