We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting”
Review of Kokopu Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kokopu Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Absolutely beautiful little cottage with just so many surprises around every corner. We loved it...especially the outdoor bath! Very private and the owners were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

Second time we have stayed in Mark & Wendy's beautiful cottage and in opposite seasons. We just love our second home, so peaceful with a log fire and a warm cosiness it's great in Winter/Spring, and with a beautiful garden and the babbling brook, spending time outside in summer is super...Not forgetting the bath..... Akaroa is beautiful, we love the arty shops, the french cafe, and the Vangionis restaurant is a must try, and the people are so friendly. Looking forward to our next visit already....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Highway_Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is a cool place to stay. It's a beautiful house, and a charming cottage. While Mark and Wendy are friendly and caring hosts they also afford you privacy. The house and the cottage are both quiet and we slept really well. The setting is just spectacular... hillside drops away to a view of the bay, a wee stream, native bush.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimbuktuWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed at the Gatekeepers Cottage for 2 nights, to celebrate my partners birthday.
The surrounding gardens are a dream and the private courtyard with pond by the cottage door is a pleasure to spend time in. Lovely clean interior and very comfortable bed with luxury linens. A good selection of tea and coffee. Everything you need for a quiet romantic weekend away. We really loved staying here and an added bonus was Fergus the dog who greeted us everytime we drove up and the gorgeous lambs down the drive that did'nt mind being petted. Wendy and Mark have made a lovely home and property that they share with lucky travellers. Magic!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wascallywabbit46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This was exactly what you dream a cottage should be, absoultely quaint, picture perfect, cozy...highlight of our trip! The outside bath in the forest was so special too! THANK YOU THANK YOU for making our honey moon wonderful!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank CjoyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed for one night - mid week - in the Gatekeepers Cottage in May. (We should have taken more time off for my birthday and stayed longer) The Gatekeepers cottage is beautiful . It has a little kitchenette with a great selection of teas and coffees - fresh milk in a jug is just so homely. The shower was great with its own heating system - you can have a refreshing luxurious shower and it only takes 10-15 minutes to reheat the system. The Estate is only a couple of minutes drive from the centre of Akaroa. This is a perfect location for just relaxing and unwinding in a beautiful country setting. Wendy and Mark were the friendliest of hosts - the recommendation to go to Vangionis just made my birthday the best. Food - Devine (if it is still on the menu when you visit, try the rabbit), Service - Excellant, Atmosphere - a night to remember. We will definitely stay here again. Bob and Jan.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janroulston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Despite the name, Gatekeepers Cottage is actually a studio apartment physically connected to the main house. It is a lovely room with exposed timber beams and a comfortable, if very soft, bed. The room was warm and most of the windows overlooked the lovely gardens. There is a kitchenette with small refrigerator, microwave, kettle, toaster, cutlery and crockery provided. It was stocked with a nice selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate and Wendy provide a jug of milk for us on arrival. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was powerful, but only provided 7 minutes of hot water. (A fact that would have been good to know BEFORE i got in!) A hair dryer and straightening tongs were nice thoughtful extras.

There is a small "sitting area" downstairs but it felt more like the waiting room of a doctor's office and I can't imagine anyone actually making use of it. There is a small courtyard out front with a fish pond and fountain, table and chairs and BBQ pit. It was raining while we were there but I have no doubts that it would be a lovely place to spend sunny mornings and evenings.

The gardens, grounds and estate house are exquisite. The actual self-contained Kokopu Cottage looked absolutely charming. Located just down the hill from the main estate house, Kokopu Cottage is set next to a small creek and has a lovely garden, bridge and incredible trees with blazing autumn colours. We peeked through the windows and it looks very well appointed and comfortable. The master bedroom has an amazing stained glass window. You could easily spend hours happily wandering around and photographing the garden.

All in all I enjoyed my stay; but I was expecting a self-contained cottage so I felt a little deceived. Had I known the "Gatekeepers Cottage" was just one room (I don't really count the downstairs waiting room) I would have booked the Kokopu Cottage instead.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_N0T_Lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.4 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopu Estate

Address: 155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: £81 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopu Estate Cottages - Kokopu Cottage is idyllically situated beside a stream with gorgeous garden and native trees. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and bathroom with washing machine.Open fire in the living room. Secluded outdoor wood-fired bath beside the stream. DVD player, games and books. No WiFi - this is country living at it's best. The Gatekeepers Cottage is a luxurious romantic retreat with ensuite bathroom and private courtyard. Stunning location. Self catering or delicious cooked breakfast bought to you. WiFi available The Potager Suite is a bed and breakfast room within the main house with a private adjacent bathroom. Single room also available. Lounge with open fire available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kokopu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing