We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kokopu Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Rochelle Motel(Akaroa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sumner Bay Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferry Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cashel Court Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
City Worcester Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
103
14
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
14
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgatekeepers cottageoutdoor baththe main houseopen fireb bbabbling streamwonderful escapequaint cottagerural retreatrest and relaxationnative bushfive minute drivehidden awaygarden settingwonderful place to relaxdawn choruscomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This was a really lovely place to spend 2 calm and romantic days around Christmas. The whole premises, house and grounds are really lovely, with lovely views of the surrounding hills. The house is wonderful with gorgeous wood floors and ceiling and rich, warm textured decorations. The bed and bedroom were so comfortable.

We whiled the day away sitting on the outside patio, drinking wine amidst the blooming garden with summer all around. The owners, Wendy and Mark, made us feel so welcome at their place during Christmas and Wendys Sherry Trifle (with gooseberries) was delicious! I'm sorry that we had to leave so soon.

Attention burgeoning artists! It would be a perfect place to write, navel gaze and maybe even to catch up on lagging paperwork, whatever! This place is perfect for those who want to get away from it all, to relax and enjoy the silence on your own or with your loved ones! Of course, the nearby village of Akaroa provides some great activities (swim with dolphins) and restaurants.

We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roddyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed in the Kokopu Cottage for our first two nights in New Zealand. It was an excellent place to relax and acclimate after our long flight from the U.S. We felt totally isolated from the world. We loved the beautiful trees, the wild calla lilies, the outside table and chairs, the birds singing in the mornings, our own little stream with footbridge to the outdoor bath tub, and the evening visits from Fergus the dog. We felt very much at home in paradise. The cottage was self-contained with a very comfortable bedroom, sitting room, kitchenette, bathroom w/shower, and another sleeping room or sitting room with french doors opening out on the deck. The owners house is way up the hill and out of sight. Mark, Wendy, and Fergus were very friendly to visit with and the perfect hosts. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Absolutely beautiful little cottage with just so many surprises around every corner. We loved it...especially the outdoor bath! Very private and the owners were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Second time we have stayed in Mark & Wendy's beautiful cottage and in opposite seasons. We just love our second home, so peaceful with a log fire and a warm cosiness it's great in Winter/Spring, and with a beautiful garden and the babbling brook, spending time outside in summer is super...Not forgetting the bath..... Akaroa is beautiful, we love the arty shops, the french cafe, and the Vangionis restaurant is a must try, and the people are so friendly. Looking forward to our next visit already....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Highway_Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is a cool place to stay. It's a beautiful house, and a charming cottage. While Mark and Wendy are friendly and caring hosts they also afford you privacy. The house and the cottage are both quiet and we slept really well. The setting is just spectacular... hillside drops away to a view of the bay, a wee stream, native bush.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimbuktuWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews