We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kokopu Cottage - Heavenly!”
Review of Kokopu Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kokopu Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I can only echo other's comments on Kokopu Cottage, we didn't want to leave. We stayed for 3 nights while exploring the Akaroa area, and loved our little cottage nestled in its own valley - with a stream running through the garden and sheep nearly at the door, it's a little patch of paradise. The cottage is slighly rustic, but with all comforts provided, lovingly furnished and bursting with character, and this only adds to its charm - spending time with Wendy and Mark, the owners, and learning about the history of the place was fascinating. We didn't use the outdoor bath as the evenings were cool, but curling up in front of the log fire with a glass of wine, after a day exploring Akaroa Harbour and a fantastic meal at Vangionis, was a great end to the day.

Room Tip: Kokopu Cottage is the ultimate 'get away from it all' retreat.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Kokopu Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

A truly fantastic place to stay, combined with the beautiful Akaroa harbour in all of its sparkling glory, the Kokopu estate gave us a magical start to our New Zealand adventure. Mark and Wendy were lovely hosts, incredibly kind and helpful. The accommodation in Gate Keepers is exquisite - quirky details and Mark's building handiwork is fantastic. Wish we could have stayed forever! We shall return..... :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for a couple days and realized that I could have just moved in for a month.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This was a really lovely place to spend 2 calm and romantic days around Christmas. The whole premises, house and grounds are really lovely, with lovely views of the surrounding hills. The house is wonderful with gorgeous wood floors and ceiling and rich, warm textured decorations. The bed and bedroom were so comfortable.

We whiled the day away sitting on the outside patio, drinking wine amidst the blooming garden with summer all around. The owners, Wendy and Mark, made us feel so welcome at their place during Christmas and Wendys Sherry Trifle (with gooseberries) was delicious! I'm sorry that we had to leave so soon.

Attention burgeoning artists! It would be a perfect place to write, navel gaze and maybe even to catch up on lagging paperwork, whatever! This place is perfect for those who want to get away from it all, to relax and enjoy the silence on your own or with your loved ones! Of course, the nearby village of Akaroa provides some great activities (swim with dolphins) and restaurants.

We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roddyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed in the Kokopu Cottage for our first two nights in New Zealand. It was an excellent place to relax and acclimate after our long flight from the U.S. We felt totally isolated from the world. We loved the beautiful trees, the wild calla lilies, the outside table and chairs, the birds singing in the mornings, our own little stream with footbridge to the outdoor bath tub, and the evening visits from Fergus the dog. We felt very much at home in paradise. The cottage was self-contained with a very comfortable bedroom, sitting room, kitchenette, bathroom w/shower, and another sleeping room or sitting room with french doors opening out on the deck. The owners house is way up the hill and out of sight. Mark, Wendy, and Fergus were very friendly to visit with and the perfect hosts. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Absolutely beautiful little cottage with just so many surprises around every corner. We loved it...especially the outdoor bath! Very private and the owners were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Second time we have stayed in Mark & Wendy's beautiful cottage and in opposite seasons. We just love our second home, so peaceful with a log fire and a warm cosiness it's great in Winter/Spring, and with a beautiful garden and the babbling brook, spending time outside in summer is super...Not forgetting the bath..... Akaroa is beautiful, we love the arty shops, the french cafe, and the Vangionis restaurant is a must try, and the people are so friendly. Looking forward to our next visit already....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Highway_Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.3 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopu Estate

Address: 155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: £88 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopu Estate Cottages - Kokopu Cottage is idyllically situated beside a stream with gorgeous garden and native trees. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and bathroom with washing machine.Open fire in the living room. Secluded outdoor wood-fired bath beside the stream. DVD player, games and books. No WiFi - this is country living at it's best. The Gatekeepers Cottage is a luxurious romantic retreat with ensuite bathroom and private courtyard. Stunning location. Self catering or delicious cooked breakfast bought to you. WiFi available The Potager Suite is a bed and breakfast room within the main house with a private adjacent bathroom. Single room also available. Lounge with open fire available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kokopu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing