We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kokopu Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kokopu Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

There could not have been a better start to our holiday in New Zealand then to stay the first 3 nights in the Gatekeeper’s Cottage. It was simply perfect. Thanks so much to our hosts Wendy and Mark for everything. They were so kind to us and we loved talking to them. We liked the silence of nature, the stars at night, waking up with the sunlight, walking over the hills around the house, sitting in the yard on a sunny day and enjoying the peaceful area. The two rooms are spacious (one downstairs, one upstairs) with many nice details. The bed was very comfortable. We used the kitchenette only for the breakfast. It is only a short drive to Akaroa. We recommend Vangionis Trattoria and Bar, the restaurant of the son. The pizza is really special there. We highly recommend this accommodation and the restaurant too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
acton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed two nights with Mark and Wendy in their Gatekeeper's Cottage in early March 2013. The owners raise sheep, bottle their own red and white wine (excellent by the way and for sale on occasion,) have a spring that supplies their water, and grow vegetables for their own use and the family's restaurant in town. The cottage was very charming, done in french antique with a number of interesting pieces. Wendy and Mark were grilling venison from a hunt, and shared a taste of their wine. We couldn't have asked for better hosts and a more charming place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

The cottage was very nicely furnish and has a private seating area and a garden outside! One thing to take note is that it is about 1.5km from the main road and the last half of the journey is on a gravel road. We initially thought that we have gone the wrong direction.. So when you see the gravel path, you will soon see Kokopu estate on the right :) Very quiet and peaceful location for relaxation.. Nice views of the mountains at the back of gatekeeper's cottage too.

Room Tip: At the entrance of Kokopu estate, you will see the Kokopu cottage. Gatekeeper's cottage is in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowpyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here based on recommendations from Trip Advisor and loved it. It was perfect for what we were looking for and was very authentic, very clean and charming. We stayed in the Innkeeper's Cottage and found it very comfortable. We walked up to the onsite vineyard and and also to see the sheep. Very peaceful and relaxing and the innkeepers were very hospitable and helpful. Totally different than staying in a hotel and felt more like staying in a country house. Akaroa is very charming and scenic, as is the surrounding countryside and worth a visit. Mark and Wendy were very nice and we felt like we were staying someplace special.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler33305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

This was the second time we stayed at Kokopu cottage. It is a little paradise. I love the stained glass window in master bedroom and we love the outdoor tub. We would definitely stay again. It is a lovely setting with the running creek and great garden with a little bridge to cross. Birds singing, the creek bubbling and wind whispering, it is a great spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We found the Kokapu Estates B & B from a recommendation from a B & B we had stayed in in Auckland (it was owned by a friend of a friend of our hosts). We stayed in the Potager B & B suite rather than the self-catering cottages. Immediately on arrival, about a mile out of town up a gravel road, we were offered ANYTHING to drink by Wendy– we settled for gin and tonics on the patio overlooking their gorgeous English-style garden and a view over the bay! We found out that Wendy and Mark Bradley had designed and built their home and that they own one of the best restaurants in town (Vangioni’s), and that they have sheep and grow vines. Cooked breakfasts were first class and beautifully presented. On the second night on the patio Mark shared some of his pinot noir that he had produced – absolutely the best pinot noir we had in New Zealand. My wife said Mark’s home-made salami was exemplary also.

Room Tip: Go with the Potager - full service with stunning breakfasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you are travelling in the Christchurch area, you must stay in Mark and Wendy's B&B. We have nothing but good things to say about this accommodation. It has it all - great views, friendly owners, farm animals on site, a vineyard, fruit orchards, vegetable gardens, and close proximity to the beautiful town of Akaroa. The breakfasts are fantastic and a great kick start to the day and you must try the Pinot Noir from Mark and Wendy's vineyard. We stayed in the Potager Suite which was ideal for our family of four - our two daughters are still talking about the family dog (Fergus) and cat (Carrie). For anyone with NZD2.4mn to spare you can buy the whole 37 acre property which is currrently on the market at this price. In my opinion, $2.4mn is a huge bargain since property values are surely destined to up in the Akaroa area in next few years as the economic benefits of the ambitious rebuild plans for Christchurch (only 90 mins away) start to take shape!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopu Estate

Property: Kokopu Estate
Address: 155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopu Estate Cottages - Kokopu Cottage is idyllically situated beside a stream with gorgeous garden and native trees. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and bathroom with washing machine.Open fire in the living room. Secluded outdoor wood-fired bath beside the stream. DVD player, games and books. No WiFi - this is country living at it's best. The Gatekeepers Cottage is a luxurious romantic retreat with ensuite bathroom and private courtyard. Stunning location. Self catering or delicious cooked breakfast bought to you. WiFi available The Potager Suite is a bed and breakfast room within the main house with a private adjacent bathroom. Single room also available. Lounge with open fire available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kokopu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing