We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantis Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Reviewed 19 October 2013

When travelling on a budget you often get what you pay for but at Atlantis you get much more! The staff go above and beyond to make you feel at home and part of their crazy family. The hostel itself feels like a home, they offer free dessert and breakfast and have lots of suggestions for things to do. The dorm room is arranged so that you can have a private little nook if you like or can be part of a bigger dorm space. I've stayed in YHA's and Base hostels all over and they always feel the same but Atlantis is a breath of fresh air, you feel looked after and cared for!! I wish I could've stayed longer. Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Ok, the rooms are not the best and it seems to be very chaotic in this place but the staff is very lovely and you can see that they make a lot of effort to let everyone feel comfortable.
If you got straight from the ferry don't be afraid of staying in the 22 bed dorm or in the Atlantis Backpackers in general.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julius k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The guy at check in was very funny and made us feel welcome the whole time!
The rooms were cute and clean. The kitchen was big and you get free dessert at night (you can't ever go wrong with that)
Loved the style of the hostel, it felt like it had character.. like a home away from home! Will definitely stay here if I go to Picton again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I would recommend everyone this accomodation. Friendly staff, nice location, very close to the ferries. There is free coffee and chocolate and sometimes home made sweets too! Good advice received by the staff about things to see/do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

After some confusion re availability & several calls + a face to face with the delightfully zany Madame who seemingly runs this place I had 2 great nights here. V friendly & helpful with good local tips - great 'fush n chups' at local fish plant just down the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hostel is the worst I've ever seen. The dormitory is one big room with circa 20 beds, no doors, no privacy and cats!
The movie room looks just shocking and the woman at the reception is creepy. I didn't feel comfortable at all. I did not even feel welcome, there was a big community room, but the couches were covered with blankets and cushions for the cats.
The are other and better hostel in picton. Book one of them, don't make my mistake and pay for this one...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 368Marie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were two couples that arrived via the Wellington Ferry and made the 5 minute walk to Atlantis Backpacker to recieve a warm welcome and great service. We stayed in a two bedroom ensuite flat in the rear of the main building but enjoyed spending time in the main building as well. The owner Shiera is a wonderfully eccentric and colorful spirit that made us feel right at home. We loved the somewhat wild and very creative murals that adorn the interior walls of the main building. We stayed three nights before taking the coastal train to Christchurch. The train station is just across the street but no worries there is no noise from the train. We found the place to be clean and quiet and thankfully no a good fit for any ultra conservative types. There is a laundry room and a large kitchen. This is a great place to hangout and meet fellow travelers. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Picton is a very small and picturesque town which can easily be covered on foot from this Hostel. In short we found it to be clean, welcoming, a good value and a place we would love to spend more time.

Room Tip: For two couples the 2 bedroom flat in the rear is very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
183 reviews
0 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#12 of 27 in Picton
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#4 of 27 in Picton
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge
2.2 mi away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Backpackers

Address: London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: £15 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Atlantis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Backpackers Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing