We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, friendly owners”
Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broadway Motel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

The whole motel looks modern with attractive rooms. The 2 bedroom unit we stayed was a reasonable size for a night or two's stay.
The owners friendly and helpful.
The location is a little further away from the harbour than some other accommodation but still an easy walk.
It is right opposite the big supermarket - there is a (probably more expensive) 4 square down the road.
The only downside was that the rear block of units back onto the main highway and train line. The night we stayed one train came through at around 9:30pm and another around 6am. The road was a little noisy but not terrible by a long shot.
We would stay here if we visited Picton again.
We also stayed at the Gateway and I gave reviewed it too.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank LagoNexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We travelled up from Christchurch, towing a large fully laden trailer, staying overnight and catching the 7am ferry to Wellington the next morning. I had booked everything online and let the Motel know we would need an area to park the ute and trailer in overnight. We arrive just after 6pm and to hubby's delight a coned off area was ready and waiting. Heaven.

We were shown to our unit, right opposite the ute and trailer, and left to make ourselves comfy! And we were more than comfy. This was the forth motel we'd stayed at in four days and my husband summed it up well - you saved the best till last!

Well done guys - I will be recommending you to everyone. I know where we will be staying when be come back!
Trish & Jeff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Trish - thank you for the positive review of our family business. In your case you made it real easy for us to meet your needs as you let us know in advance about your extra parking requirements.
Thank you again for staying at the Broadway and its really lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay . We look forwarding to assisting you again in the future

Henry Kersten (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here after walking the Queen Charlotte Trail. Great recovery place , do the laundry and repack prior to driving South. Room spacious, good cooking facilities and excellent shower. Convenient for supermarket and fish and chip shop. Very friendly staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stopped off in Picton after travelling from the North Island. This motel was excellent. Very comfortable. Close to the supermarket and an easy walk into the lovely town of Picton. Friendly staff. Great wifi, not always that available in NZ, a must for travellers. We had a sunny balcony for an early evening glass of wine. We liked it so much we booked it again for our return journey.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Marian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed in one bedroom studio unit, it was clean, comfortable and modern, handy to town, and supermarket, not far from ferry, pleasant staff, plenty of parking on site, Picton is a nice town, all in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Casoak - Thank you for taking the time to review the Broadway Motel. It is very important to us that all our guests have a clean, comfortable and modern unit and its great to hear that we met your expectations.

Donna and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Donna & Henry Kersten (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed two nights in second floor room. Room very good with comfortable bed and excellent shower. Staff friendly and happy to offer advice on places to eat etc. Hotel easy to access and is 5 minutes walk to center of town for cafes and all activities associated with Queen Charlotte Sound. Only small demerit is that if you are a light sleeper the occasional freight trains (one or two per night), which run near the motel, may wake you up. Woke us the first night with window open, but closed the window second night and no further problem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The room was fabulous. Very modern and clean with a really comfortable bed. The shower was particularly impressive being of a wet room walk in style and a very generous size. Some other motels we stayed at in NZ did not have a teapot, the Broadway did and we were very grateful because tea just doesn't taste the same when it's brewed in a cup!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Bruce H, Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We do go to a lot of trouble making sure that all our units are modern, clean and comfortable and its great to hear that we met your expectations.

If ever we can be of service to you, please give us a call on 0800 101 919 and we will do our utmost to meet your needs

Thank you again for staying at the Broadway Motel and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Donna & Henry Kersten (Owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
93 reviews
15.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Address: 113 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Green Hotel in Picton
#3 Family Hotel in Picton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £70 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality in the Heart of Picton. If you are expecting ... Central location, spacious / modern / clean units with air-conditioning, kitchen facilities, flat screen TVs, Sky TV, mains pressure showers, comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, all within 700m of the Ferry Terminals and Train Station. Then the Broadway Motel is the place for you. With a Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating, for the last ten years, this puts us amongst Picton's Top rated motels & hotels. Being a family business it is very important to us that we provide excellent service and a clean, serviced room for you every time. So close to the supermarket, shops, restaurants and bars, all within 450m, - we are ideally situated in the heart of Picton. Quality accommodation, friendly service at an affordable price for your next stay in Picton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton
Broadway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing