We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay”
Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Broadway Motel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Friendly and helpful owners who were prepared to walk the extra mile. We booked for 2 nights but enjoyed Picton and the Broadway so much that we decided to stay another 2 nights. We had to move to a different unit for 1 night and the owners arranged other accommodation for us for the fourth night (New Years Eve). Spacious rooms, neat garden and they do even cater for smokers by providing ash trays outside!! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

My brother, sister in law and infant nephew traveled to Picton in November 2013 for a family funeral from Australia, all staying in one of the two bedroom rooms. The owners were so lovely (happy to have a chat and were very helpful when we needed an extra nights stay at short notice during a peak weekend), the accommodation was very clean, serviced daily, very comfortable bedding and everything is an easy stroll from the hotel.
Having traveled all over the world I find it hard to believe that you could find something really negative to say about the place unless your expectations are a little too high for this kind of accommodation. Agree with HK_Observer re: internet.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others and some are closer to the train line than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole_mckay_dwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived at the motel expecting the same standard of accommodation we had experienced during our trip (rated at the same level). Well, it was like a rest home - tired, very basic, the shower had a shower chair, the place was dirty and smelly. Maybe we got the worst room in the complex or else the Qualmark rater was blind when he gave this place a 4 plus star. The staff were reasonably friendly, that was the saving grace. I wouldn't advise staying here unless first inspecting the room meets your expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoutiquetravellerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

BoutiquetravellerNZ,

It is extremely disappointed to read that you weren't happy with your accommodation. This may be in part, by the fact that you were double booked at the Luxury Waterfront Apartments by your travel agent. We helped out by providing last minute accommodation but clearly this was not what you were expecting and it would appear that we had to bear the brunt of your disappointment.
One of the units the travel agent booked for you was an access unit, which is designed to accommodate disabled people and the stool is there for their convenience. Following on from your comments, we have now removed the shower chair and will replace it when it is required.
At the time you stayed with us, you did raise concerns with Jill, the manager, regarding dust on the window sill and a hair in the shower waste. Upon investigation it was found that pollen had settled on the window sill. We do keep the windows/doors open all day to ensure we do not have any odours in the units so this may be how this happened - we will review our procedures in this area. Regarding the hair, Jill couldn't find any trace of a hair in the shower so as a precaution she removed and cleaned the shower waste. The only smell that could be detected in the unit was the smell of the new wool carpet which had been replaced in November.
Cleanliness is such a vital part of what we do and we go to great lengths to ensure all the rooms are clean and up to the required standard. To this end, all the units are checked after the cleaners have finished by either, Jill, Donna or myself to ensure that nothing has been missed. In addition to this after every ten nights occupation the unit is given a spring clean to ensure that they are up to our rigorous standards.

The Broadway Motel has been independently rated by Qualmark at the upper end of the "four star plus" category and we have achieved this constantly over the last 7 years in the Motel category. Boutique Hotels are measured by a different standard which you may not be aware of and may have compounded the issue. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations but as your TA name would suggest, perhaps you were looking for more of a Boutique experience as opposed to a Motel
Finally, we would also welcome and in fact encourage anybody to come in and inspect any of our units to ensure they meet their expectations. If you cannot come in then please, go to our website, as we have gone to great lengths to portray our rooms as they actually are and you can see what you will be getting before you book.

If you would like any further clarification please do not hesitate to call me on +64 3 573 6563

Henry Kersten (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The units were spacious, large bathroom with a great shower and very comfortable bed! Friendly and helpful staff. Good location just 5 minutes walk from main area and waterfront and 10 minutes from ferry and train station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chri5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Warm welcome and friendly staff. Good clean basic motel. Location at the edge of downtown is good (10 mins walk to the foreshore). However, note that the north-south rail line is right outside the back of the motel. The occasional train trundles through and makes its presence felt largely through rumbling. We are early risers but late sleepers might dislike that. As seems common on the South Island, internet service is metered; the free allocation for each stay is 100 MB, and many people's smartphones easily eat through that in one day. Additional MB are reasonably priced, fortunately ($5).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

HK_Observer – Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. Its great to hear you received a warm welcome form our friendly staff and the location suited your needs.

Just to clarify a couple of you comments for other readers – The railway line is on the other side of the road and down below the motel. Picton is a port town and we do have the occasion train going past to meet up with the Ferry. To mitigate any noise issue we have installed double glazing in the units as well as supplying ear plugs for the light sleepers, as suggest by a previous light sleeping guest who found it worked for her.

Regarding the internet, we do supply 200mb free for each booking and it is possible to connect 4 devices to the one access code. This caters for the majority of peoples needs however an addition 200mb can be purchased for $5 or 2000mb for $20 for the heavy users.

Thank you again for staying at the Broadway Motel and if you would like further clarification please call me on 0800 101 919 or email me on stay@broadwaymotel.co.nz

Henry Kersten (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I couldn't have had a better experience. We traveled from California and stayed one night, but had emailed back and forth about accommodations with the owners. They gave us clear instructions on how to get there and what to do (because we arrived after hours). It's a short walk from the ferry terminal. We got a large room with a kitchenette, big bathroom with couples bathtub, and beautiful view of the mountains behind. The bed came with an electric blanket to help offset the cold weather (we visited in October). Small, clean, cozy. I would definitely recommend staying here primarily because the owners are super polite and accommodating. Thanks for reading!

Room Tip: Book a honeymoon suite! Great room quality, spacious, includes dining and kitchenette, large bed, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjbrown23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The lady that took the booking, Jill was excellent & Donna wonderfully helpful. We finished our work early, so requested to leave a night early. The man that served us, was totally inflexible around allowing us to depart early without paying the second full nights accomodation. I requested 3 times was it possible to negotiate, but he was unwilling, referring us to there terms and conditions!!

Beware is all I can say!! The man about the establishment can be mean and arrogant and is cerntainly not committed to building ongoing relationships with local customers whom may return to Picton for business. Shame on you.. His short term thinking is quite frankly probably limiting business.

We have ongoing business in Picton township and would not recommend the motel, which is such a shame, it was clean, very tidy and both ladies had a great attitude.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Sue - It is great that you found the ladies excellent and wonderfully helpful but a real shame you did not tell the full story about your stay in Picton.

Late on the first night of your stay you did ask if you could cancel the second night of your booking. At that time I did remind you about our cancellation policy (minimum of 48 hours notice) but I did also say that if we could resell the rooms, you would get a full fund for the second night of your booking – fair to all parties concerned.

At no stage did you cancel the second night of your booking, until you checked out at 4.02pm, after all the cleaners had gone home. We were full that night and if we had been told earlier, we would have been able to clean and resell the room but unfortunately this late notice did not afford this possibility.

Our cancellation policy is there to be fair to all parties concerned and in this case you wanted to change the terms of your booking, without giving us the best possible opportunity to resell your room. This is a no win situation, as we hate charging people in these situations and you end up paying for a night you don’t want.

If anybody would like further details about this matter then please do not hesitate to contact me directly on +64 3 573 6563

Henry Kersten (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
15.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Address: 113 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#3 Family Hotel in Picton
#5 Business Hotel in Picton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £75 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality in the Heart of Picton. If you are expecting ... Central location, spacious / modern / clean units with air-conditioning, kitchen facilities, flat screen TVs, Sky TV, mains pressure showers, comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, all within 700m of the Ferry Terminals and Train Station. Then the Broadway Motel is the place for you. With a Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating, for the last ten years, this puts us amongst Picton's Top rated motels & hotels. Being a family business it is very important to us that we provide excellent service and a clean, serviced room for you every time. So close to the supermarket, shops, restaurants and bars, all within 450m, - we are ideally situated in the heart of Picton. Quality accommodation, friendly service at an affordable price for your next stay in Picton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton
Broadway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing