We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Broadway Motel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Surrey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We only stayed for one night, but were delighted with this excellent motel that provided splendid accommodation spacious, well equipped and very clean. - our only reservation is to advise against taking the advice of the Motel on a suitable restaurant to eat at - avoid Oxley's.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
MikeTSurrey - thank you for taking the time to review our family business. Its great to read you "were delighted with this excellent motel that provided splendid accommodation spacious, well equipped and very clean".

It is a concern that the experience at the Oxleys was not up to standard, which is why I have requested more details from you, so that I can follow up.

Thank you again for staying at the Broadway and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Donna & Henry Kersten (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    129
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
120
228
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed four nights--two at the start of our Queen Charlotte Sound 5 day guided walk, and two at the end. It is well located ( 400m from Picton Harbour), and close to all facilities and shops. Clean, comfortable and a great shower, it has very friendly and helpful staff--nothing was too much trouble to them. Well equipped with TV and Wi-Fi, the only downside for some would be the train rumbling past twice during the night/early morning. Would very readily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingfriend_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We chose this motel from the Internet never having visited Picton before. It is very well equipped with modern bathroom & kitchenette appliances, had a comfortable bed & sitting areas, pleasant mountain views from our upstairs room, small balcony & has a great supermarket across the road. Henry the on site manager could not have been more helpful. The fact that WIFI was available was a decider in our choice as always when we are overseas & need to keep connected. We stayed 3 nights and thought it was great. Would definitely recommend this motel & stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redCairns_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
redCairns_Australia, thank you for taking the time to review our family business. Its great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and would recommend the Broadway Motel to other people.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future

Donna & Henry Kersten
(Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were staying just the one night here. We were shown to our room which was very comfortable and spacious. It had a kitchenette and a good shower room. There was a supermarket close by. Picton is where the ferry comes into from North Island but it is a very pretty little harbour and a good selection of restaurants. There are plenty of walks here and great views especially from Queen Charlotte Drive.

Room Tip: There is a railway line that runs through Picton and although it was very hot when we got there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
candt1969 - Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Broadway Motel. It is very important to us that all our guests have and enjoyable stay and its great to read that you found very comfortable and spacious.

We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the country and its lovely to hear that you managed to find time to enjoy some of the walks around Picton.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Motel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Donna & Henry Kersten
(Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a family member fall ill - staff went out of their way to ensure we had emergency accommodation the following night. Located on main road intersection, but noise is muted and the bonus is that it is a short walk down main street to all the shopping/dining.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Peter V - thank you for posting a review of our Family business. It is always difficult when a family member falls ill while on holiday and its nice to hear that we helped in finding you accommodation, at this very busy time of year.

We both hope that the sickness didn't last long and your family enjoyed the rest of their holiday. Thank you again for staying at the Broadway and if we can ever be of any more assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Donna & Henry Kersten
(Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had two brief overnight stays at this lovely motel in Feb 2014. Arrived on the late ferry from North Island and just needed somewhere close to ferry terminal overnight before continuing our holiday south. Pleasant downstairs room with separate bedroom & bathroom. Room was spotless and well equipped with everything we needed. Nice to be offered a choice of full cream or trim milk and not have to use those horrible little UHT sachets most motels offer. Our second stay was also brief as we had to catch early ferry next morning back to North Island, so naturally we booked Broadway Motel again as we'd had such a good experience the first time. We were upgraded to a lovely upstairs room - it was a shame we couldn't stay longer to really enjoy it, but once again found it spotlessly clean. Great motel, handy to shops and restaurants so you can walk everywhere once you arrive, lovely reception staff and easy parking. What more could you want!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lovely clean room lady on reception was pleasent and helpfull. We arrived on late ferry from north Island and were given directions to a restaurant. Although they did not provide Breakfast allowed us to park our car for as long as we liked after cheaking out

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomoDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Property: Broadway Motel
Address: 113 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Picton
#3 Family Hotel in Picton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#5 Business Hotel in Picton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality in the Heart of Picton. If you are expecting ... Central location, spacious / modern / clean units with air-conditioning, kitchen facilities, flat screen TVs, Sky TV, mains pressure showers, comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, all within 700m of the Ferry Terminals and Train Station. Then the Broadway Motel is the place for you. With a Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating, for the last ten years, this puts us amongst Picton's Top rated motels & hotels. Being a family business it is very important to us that we provide excellent service and a clean, serviced room for you every time. So close to the supermarket, shops, restaurants and bars, all within 450m, - we are ideally situated in the heart of Picton. Quality accommodation, friendly service at an affordable price for your next stay in Picton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton
Broadway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing