We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people - Tired Unit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Street Living Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Street Living Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely people - Tired Unit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We received a friendly, warm welcome by the couple running the motel. After a day's travel, this is always appreciated. The location of the motel is perfect: a short walk to all the eating establishments and waterfront. However, the unit wasn't great. With three teenagers, the 2-bedroom unit was tiny! Bathroom and kitchen were adequate, but barely. It was very dated and worst of all, the double bed had shocking roll-together making for a terrible night's sleep. Not a great experience I'm afraid.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frozenribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    30
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
20
36
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

sorry guys, I know you have just taken on the motel but to charge $190 for the room we had was a rip off. It's tired and rough around the edges. I know we have a dog but homes can still be nice with a dog living in it. The price for the 2 bed room should reflect it's dated and tired decor. The mattress was old as we kept rolling into the middle. I think the carpet up the walls needs replacing. The fact that it is at the back of the motel looking out at brick walls and corgigated fencing is not appealing, it would have been worth the stay for half the price. It's an over priced room for what you get. Sorry, hope to see it look better in the near future.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Di P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouPR2013, Owner at High Street Living Motel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi Di,
We always welcome constructive criticism as we are working everyday to improve our motel and we want to achieve the best possible accommodation for our customers what ever there needs maybe. As you booked with the previous owner, we where unaware that the pet friendly unit was not marketed to you in the appropriate way when the contract was entered into. Lou and I are very approachable and wish you brought these issues' to our attention during your stay.
Hope to see you again in the new year as the pet friendly unit is next on the list for a revamp.
Happy Holidays :)
Cheers Paul & Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Picton hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Louise and Paul hosted our group of 12 for the weekend. They had everything we needed and nothing was a problem. Great central location with Cafes/ restaurants and Bars at the doorstep. Great to walk around the waterfront in the mornings. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

right in town so close to everything no need to drink n drive here . great friendly couple who go out of there way to ensure you have a good stay . fantastic 2 nights . what more can i say . if you want close to town and that walk any where feeling your right there . close to wharf , shops bars , cafes the lot .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a brilliant place. Paul and Louise were the best hosts and their hospitality was excellent. They made us feel so welcome and just a lovely atmosphere round the place. The rooms were excellent, tidy and clean. Linen and towels were fresh and new. Would recommend to anyone traveling to Picton. Its definitely the place to stay for your first stop to the south island. Many thanks for a great time and we will definitely be back. Cheers Matt and Emma

Room Tip: Clean fresh and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Was a great stay, very friendly owners, nice tidy rooms. I was there for work but felt like I was on holiday, great spot to the restaurants and bars and a morning run along the beach front. some rooms have cooking facilities which is great if you want to cook your self.

Room Tip: Has cooking facilities so great if you want to get your own or restaurants at your door step
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

New owners injecting allot of time and money to this classic, comfortable bed!! Nice clean units. Friendly staff, located right in the heart of picton. And a few black dogs for company. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarshtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Aldan Lodge Motel
Aldan Lodge Motel
#7 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Living Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Living Motel

Property: High Street Living Motel
Address: 45 High Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Tourist Court Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Street Living Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated right in the heart of Picton, surrounded by shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. The Ferry terminal is only 750 metre's away and the railway statin is even closer than that. There is so much to do with the opening of the Marlborough sounds just a minutes walk from you room. You can book a fishing charter or just cruise the sounds eating seafood and having a couple good marlborough savvy's. You can book some push bikes and take in some of the beautiful scenery on offer.We have 10 units available, 4 Studio's and 6 family two bedroom units. Each unit has a carpark outside their door so need to worry about finding parking out on the street.We are pet friendly by prior arrangement so if you are moving and don't have an option of putting your pet in a kennel etc bring him/her with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your High Street Living Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Living Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing